Welcome to the library research guide for the fields related to earth and planetary sciences! UC Davis Library provides a wealth of subscription and licensed resources that can help students, faculty, and researchers identify articles, conference proceedings, reports, and books in a print or electronic format. The following guide will point you to a selection of specialized resources to help get you started with your research.
Related Research Guides:
Key Resources
- Earth, Atmospheric and Aquatic Science This link opens in a new windowThe Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science Database includes the renowned Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA), Oceanic Abstracts, and Meteorological & Geoastrophysical Abstracts (MGA). It provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. Includes specialized references and resources studying the critical issues affecting Earth’s air, land, and water environments.
[Coverage: 1950-present] - Environmental Engineering Abstracts This link opens in a new windowCovers the world literature pertaining to technological and engineering aspects of air and water quality, environmental safety, and energy production.
[Coverage: 1990-present] - GeoRef This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Covers worldwide technical literature on geology, paleontology, and geophysics. Covers the geology of North America from 1666 to present and geology outside of North America from 1933 to present. Subject coverage areas include: areal geology, economic geology, engineering geology, environmental geology, extraterrestrial geology, geochemistry, geochronology, geophysics, hydrogeology and hydrology, marine geology and oceanography, mathematical geology, mineralogy and crystallography, paleontology, petrology, seismology, stratigraphy, structural geology, surficial geology. - Meteorological and Geoastrophysical Abstracts (MGA) This link opens in a new windowThis database covers over 600 journals, as well as books & conference proceedings, on meteorology, climatology, air pollution, astrophysics, atmospheric chemistry & physics, physical oceanography, hydrology, glaciology, and weather forecasting, from 1950s to present.
[Coverage: 1974-present] - Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new windowWeb of Science Core Collection enables searching of top-cited peer-reviewed content across the sciences, social sciences, and humanities with "cited reference" search capabilities. "It is a curated collection of over 20,000 peer-reviewed, high-quality scholarly journals published worldwide (including Open Access journals) in over 250 science, social sciences, and humanities disciplines. Conference proceedings and book data are also available." There is also access to Journal Citation Reports which provide impact metrics like the Journal Impact Factor (JIF) and Eigenfactor Scoring. Web of Science also has article, author and institutional citation indices. Includes EndNote Basic online citation management tool.
[Coverage: 1900-present]
