Full-text Journal Collections
- Taylor & Francis This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Full-text searching across the ebooks and major reference works published by Taylor & Francis and its imprints: CRC Press, Routledge, Garland and Psychology Press. Browse list of titles available. Disciplinary scope and coverage vary. Former CRCnetBASE collections incorporated in this collection include: AGRICULTUREnetBASE, BiomedicalSCIENCEnetBASE, CHEMnetBASE, ENGnetBASE, ENVIROnetBASE, FOODnetBASE, FORENSICnetBASE, MATHnetBASE, NUTRITIONnetBASE, STATSnetBASE and VETnetBASE (VetMed). Also included are newer Burleigh Dodds ebooks for agriculture. See also: Advanced Search and Taylor and Francis journals . - Sage Journals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Research journals in health sciences, social sciences, humanities, materials sciences, engineering, life and biomedical sciences. Collection of over 400 titles, coverage varies by title. - ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text searching across the ebooks, journals, and major reference works published by Elsevier on the ScienceDirect platform. Subjects include life, health and physical sciences, social sciences, and the humanities.
NOTE: We don't license everything from Elsevier, but we may have a print copy. If the article or chapter does not have a green box next to it, check the library catalog, or request from another library. EXCLUSIONS to the Elsevier collection are textbooks, some major reference works, some professional and trade titles, consumer books, and many health sciences titles.
[Coverage: dates vary] - Springer Nature Link (formerly SpringerLink) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text searching across the ebooks, ebook series, journals, and major reference works published by Springer. NOTE: We don't license everything from Springer, but we may have a print copy. If the article or chapter has a yellow lock next to it, check the library catalog, or request from another library. Coverage for eBooks begins generally with 2005-on. Direct link to SpringerLink ebooks only. - Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) This link opens in a new windowDOAJ is an extensive index of open access journals from around the world. DOAJ's goal is to cover all open access scientific and scholarly journals that use a quality control system to guarantee the content. Publications may emanate from academic, governmental, commercial, or non-profit private sources. To be included in the DOAJ, an open access journal must use a funding model that does not charge readers or their institutions for access and allow researchers to read, download, copy, distribute, print, search, or link to the full texts of these articles.
[Coverage: Varies by journal title] - Project Muse: Scholarly Journals Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Project Muse provides full text access to hundreds of journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences and mathematics. It is useful for searching interdisciplinary cultural studies topics. Its full-text search engine permits finer-grained searching than any other index for these journals. Coverage varies by journal.
Identify Peer-Reviewed Articles
A peer-reviewed source is an article that has been reviewed by several other experts in the field before being published in order to ensure its quality. This 2 minute video describes the peer review process.
How do I Know if an Article is Peer-Reviewed?
Look for limits/filters
Many databases allow you to specify that you want to search only in “peer-reviewed” or “refereed” sources.
Visit the journal’s webpage
Search online for your journal’s title. Sections like “about this journal” or “editorial policies” generally mention whether the journal is peer-reviewed/refereed.
Check a directory
Use the Ulrich’s Periodicals Directory to find key information about a journal, including whether it has a peer-review process.