One Health Guide Purpose
The connection between animals, humans, plants and the environment is at the heart of the One Health/Global Disease Biology approach. This subject guide is geared to help identify useful resources for this multidisciplinary approach.
Key Resources for One Health and Global Disease Biology
Finding background information like book chapters or narrative review articles is a great start for any topic.
Answering foreground, or research, questions are best done by searching for primary research or synthesis evidence in these article databases (See article databases for a more robust list of resources).
Statistical resources are commonly used to understand demographic context of disease and supporting literature reviews.
- CAB Abstracts (CAB) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Includes key veterinary, agricultural and global health literature. - CINAHL Complete: Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature This link opens in a new windowA key resource for all nursing and allied health including nutrition, health education, first responders and occupational health.
- BIOSIS Previews This link opens in a new windowThe preeminent biological database that also includes applied biological science like medicine and veterinary medicine.
- Scopus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary database that covers a great deal of literature, it also indexes health literature citations from medical literature database, Embase.
- UpToDate This link opens in a new windowA Point of Care resource (designed for busy clinicians to have a condensed overview on a topic).
- STAT!Ref Library This link opens in a new windowComprehensive point of care reference collection including dictionaries, references, public health content and consumer health resources.
- Vetlexicon Clinical Reference This link opens in a new windowA point of care resource for veterinary medicine designed to give a quick overview of a disease.
- PubMed for UC Davis This link opens in a new windowFind a narrative review article by choosing "review" under article type to understand a topic. Use this link to take retrieve articles with "Get it at UC".
- Scopus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Find narrative reviews by clicking "Review" and hitting the "include" button on the filters on the left.
- Statistical Abstracts of the World This link opens in a new windowThis resource aggregates the statistical abstracts of more than 50 countries and makes the content available through a single-search interface. These statistical abstracts are generally issued by the national statistical offices of foreign governments and contain country-level data not easily found elsewhere. Also includes data from the United Nations Demographic Yearbook, World Development Indicators, and Key Figures on Europe.
[Coverage: 1878-2012] - Statista This link opens in a new windowStatista is a statistics portal that provides access to data on many different topics from more than 18,000 different sources. Topics include agriculture, advertising, health, hospitality, consumer goods, and much more. Sources are government agencies and business sources. The focus on current (not historical) statistics. Data is downloadable to Excel, PowerPoint, and JPG.