Find Books in the UC Davis Library Collections
Search for print and ebooks:
- UC Library Search: Advanced SearchSearch UC Library Search for books, journals (not articles) and other materials available through the University of California Libraries.
- Understanding Call Numbers
Explains how to read a Library of Congress call number.
Locate books in person:
Searching in a library catalog requires looking for broader topics such as cat viral disease* or insect vector* rather than the more specific feline leukemia* diagnosis or insect vector* viral transmission load.
Useful subject headings (sometimes from two subject vocabularies, see information in bullets below on Library of Congress or National Library of Medicine Classification systems) for searches in this area include: Animals as carriers of disease | Epidemics | Global Health | Insect vectors | Insects as carriers of disease | Zoonoses.
If at the Shields Library and want to explore One Health/ Global Health related topics, try RA441, RA565 and RA639 range on the 3rd Floor.
Access eBooks online via the databases:
- CAB eBooks This link opens in a new window CABI ebooks provides access to over 1,200 titles in the areas of: Agriculture, Forestry and Food; Veterinary and Animal Sciences; Environmental and Natural Sciences; Plant Sciences; Human Health; Biotechnology, Engineering, Mathematics, Statistics and Techniques; Natural, Medicinal and Industrial End-products; Economics and Social Sciences; and Tourism, Hospitality, and Travel. Note: This collection includes a majority of titles published by CAB, but not all titles. In particular, the publisher has chosen not to include textbooks in this package. [Coverage: 2000-present]
This link opens in a new window
- Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window Full-text searching across the ebooks, journals, and major reference works published by Wiley. Disciplines covered include: the sciences, technology, medicine and social sciences. NOTE: We don't license everything from Wiley, but we may have a print copy. If the article or chapter does not have an open lock next to it, check the library catalog or request from another library. Textbooks are generally not included by the publisher. Access for eBooks begins primarily with 2011. Those items available are marked with an open lock icon.
- This link opens in a new window
Books of interest
One Health by
One Health, the concept of combined veterinary and human health, has now expanded beyond emerging infectious diseases and zoonoses to incorporate a wider suite of health issues. Retaining its interdisciplinary focus which combines theory with practice, this new edition illustrates the contribution of One Health collaborations to real-world issues such as sanitation, economics, food security and vaccination programmes. It includes more non-infectious disease issues and climate change discussion alongside revised case studies and expanded methodology chapters to draw out implications for practice. Promoting an action-based, solutions-oriented approach, One Health: The Theory and Practice of Integrated Health Approaches highlights the lessons learned for both human and animal health professionals and students.
Call Number: Available OnlinePublication Date: 2020
Introduction to One Health by
Introduction to One Health: An Interdisciplinary Approach to Planetary Health offers an accessible, readable introduction to the burgeoning field of One Health. Provides a thorough introduction to the who, what, where, when, why, and how of One Health Presents an overview of the One Health movement viewed through the perspective of different disciplines Encompasses disease ecology, conservation, and veterinary and human medicine Includes interviews from persons across disciplines important for the success of One Health Includes case studies in each chapter to demonstrate real-world applications
Call Number: Available OnlinePublication Date: 2018
One Health Case Studies by
'One Health' refers to an interdisciplinary approach to solving complex problems at the interface of human and animal health and the wider ecosystem. It represents an integrated and collaborative approach and addresses diverse issues, such as the detection and management of emerging and re-emerging infectious and non-infectious diseases, food and water security, food hygiene, and global trade. Many complex problems that we currently face must consider anthropogenic factors as well as climate change, environmental impact, international collaboration, tourism, the human-animal bond, economics, plant health, and a myriad of other factors. This book discusses complex concepts in One Health, such as preparedness planning, national level governance, inter-agency co-operation, climate change, human activity in sensitive ecosystems, the global food trade and food safety, antimicrobial resistance, surveillance, and communication from policy level to practical application. The book uses real-world case studies from different geographical regions, ranging from Asia to the Arctic, different environments from the jungle to the oceans, and different species including bees, fish, domestic and wild animals and humans. The cases are prepared by experts with a diverse range of experience and provide a unique and fascinating on-the-ground approach to One Health topics in practice. One Health Case Studies is an ideal resource for students and practitioners in veterinary medicine, human medicine, public health, agriculture, wildlife management, ecosystem health, and environmental management. *** "The book contains an outstanding compilation of examples of one health in action, and it may very well become the definitive textbook for learning and teaching the one-heath concept. ...well referenced and has extensive graphics to help illustrate one-health concepts in action. It is an insightful, thought-provoking, and comprehensive piece of work that is well worth the price for any medical professional." --Journal of the American Veterinary Medical Association, Vol. 250, No. 12, June 2017 [Subject: Health Policy, Public Policy, Environmental Studies]
Call Number: RA441 .O53 2016 OR Available OnlinePublication Date: 2016
One Health by
Emerging infectious diseases are often due to environmental disruption, which exposes microbes to a different niche that selects for new virulence traits and facilitates transmission between animals and humans. Thus, health of humans also depends upon health of animals and the environment - a concept called One Health. This book presents core concepts, compelling evidence, successful applications, and remaining challenges of One Health approaches to thwarting the threat of emerging infectious disease. Written by scientists working in the field, this book will provide a series of "stories" about how disruption of the environment and transmission from animal hosts is responsible for emerging human and animal diseases. Explains the concept of One Health and the history of the One Health paradigm shift. Traces the emergence of devastating new diseases in both animals and humans. Presents case histories of notable, new zoonoses, including West Nile virus, hantavirus, Lyme disease, SARS, and salmonella. Links several epidemic zoonoses with the environmental factors that promote them. Offers insight into the mechanisms of microbial evolution toward pathogenicity. Discusses the many causes behind the emergence of antibiotic resistance. Presents new technologies and approaches for public health disease surveillance. Offers political and bureaucratic strategies for promoting the global acceptance of One Health.
Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 1683673468Publication Date: 2014
