Music

Repository of public domain music world-wide.

“Chopin Online comprises three major resources dedicated to the music of Fryderyk Chopin and developed over two decades by John Rink, Christophe Grabowski and other experts working in collaboration with leading libraries and private collectors from around the world.” The first resource is AC Online - Annotated Catalogue of Chopin’s First Editions. The second resource is CFEO - Chopin’s First Editions Online. The third resource is OCVE - Online Chopin Variorum Edition.

Translation of introduction: “ The digital Mozart edition (DME) aims to prepare the entire work of Wolfgang Amadé Mozart (1756–1791) in a digital form and to provide them with free of charge for everyone worldwide for scientific, private and pedagogical purposes.”

“ This collection holds digitised images of some of the world's oldest surviving volumes of printed music. Early Music Online is the result of a pilot project in which more than 300 volumes of 16th-century music from the British Library were digitised from microfilm. The project was funded by JISC as part of the Rapid Digitisation programme 2011.”

Hosted by the Library of Congress. “The Music Treasures Consortium provides online access to the world's most valued music manuscripts and print materials, held at the most renowned music archives, in order to further research and scholarship. The Music Treasures Consortium is an alliance of many libraries with holdings of unique music resources, including music manuscripts, prints, and first and early editions. The Library of Congress is hosting the consortium Web site which gives bibliographic information on each item; access to the digital items is provided through links to the holding library's own Web site. Since each library provides bibliographic information for its items, the amount of information in each record may vary according to each institution's practice. Similarly, the interface and tools for each digital item will vary according to institution.“

Pinboard compiled by the Harvard Music Library

Portal enables English or German language searching. The site “provides free online access to digital images of more than 500 music manuscripts and more than 600 first and early editions of works by Franz Schubert. In addition, the digital collection includes a selection of autograph letters and biographical documents.
The project was funded by the Vienna Science and Technology Fund (WWTF). Since 2010, the database is hosted by the Department of Musicology at the Austrian Centre for Digital Humanities and Cultural Heritage of the Austrian Academy of Sciences. A relaunch of the database was funded by the Cultural Department of the City of Vienna. … the database includes music manuscripts, autograph letters and biographical documents from the collection of the Vienna City Library, the National Library of Austria, the Berlin State Library – Prussian Cultural Heritage and the National Library of Norway. Moreover, we provide access to digital images of first and early editions of works by Franz Schubert from the collection of the National Library of Austria. An extension of the database in cooperation with further Schubert collections is planned.”

Portal by UCLA. “ The Sheet Music Consortium provides tools and services that promote access to and use of online sheet music collections by scholars, students, and the general public.”

Portal via University of Rochester, Eastman School of Music - Sibley Music Library.