Research Guides: Mathematics &amp; Statistics: Citing

Citing in mathematics: Who is citing whom?

Web of Science Core Collection
Web of Science Core Collection enables searching of top-cited peer-reviewed content across the sciences, social sciences, and humanities with "cited reference" search capabilities. "It is a curated collection of over 20,000 peer-reviewed, high-quality scholarly journals published worldwide (including Open Access journals) in over 250 science, social sciences, and humanities disciplines. Conference proceedings and book data are also available." There is also access to Journal Citation Reports which provide impact metrics like the Journal Impact Factor (JIF) and Eigenfactor Scoring. Web of Science also has article, author and institutional citation indices. Includes EndNote Basic online citation management tool.
[Coverage: 1900-present]

Web of Science Help
Web of Science Training Resources: Getting Started
Web of Science Technical Support
Web of Science Core Collection - Quick Reference Guide

Check a directory

Ulrich's Periodicals Directory This link opens in a new window
The standard source for information on virtually every active and ceased periodical, annual, irregular publication, and monographic series published throughout the world (plus thousands of newspapers). Indicates whether a publication is a refereed (peer-reviewed) title.

NOTE: search by journal title, NOT article title. Ulrich's provides information on the entire publication (journal, magazine, newspaper, annual review) NOT on the articles within.

Citation Resources

Citation Styles
Resources to help you follow the APA, MLA or CSE style guidelines for formatting and citing information sources.
Sciwheel [A Citation Management] Resource
This resources is designed to explain the benefits of using Sciwheel, a citation management tool.

LaTeX Citations

You can manage references within LaTeX documents using BibTeX or BibLaTeX, whether you're working in Overleaf or another software. Below are helpful resources for creating your bibliography and in-text citations in LaTeX.

Overleaf bibliography management with biblatex
This Overleaf article explains how to use biblatex to manage and format the bibliography in a LaTeX document. The Overleaf help guides have many resources for learning how to use biblatex.
BibTeX.org
This site is exclusively for BibTeX information. Here you can learn about the BibTeX File Format, How to use BibTeX and BibTeX Tools which can help you to ease your BibTeX usage.
CTAN: Comprehensive TeX Archive Network
The Comprehensive TeX Archive Network (CTAN) is the central place for all kinds of material around TeX. CTAN provides detailed documentation on over 6,000 packages, bibliographic styles, and more. Most of the packages are free and can be downloaded and used immediately.
Overleaf Templates
Overleaf provides templates for journal submissions, bibliographies, books, theses, and more.

We recommend using a citation management tool in addition to your .bib LaTeX file. This creates a backup your references list. It also makes it easier to save references from a database or publisher and then transfer them into LaTeX later.

However, you will most likely want to install a third-party extension, such as Better BibTeX, to improve the transfer from the citation manager to the .bib file. Resources for using citation management software with LaTeX are below.

Using Zotero with Overleaf
This How To article shows how to link Zotero to your Overleaf account and use it to add references to your project.
Using EndNote with Overleaf
You can export your bibliography from EndNote for use in Overleaf. This How To article provides information on uploading directly to your Overleaf project or imported from an external file-hosting service.
Using SciWheel with LaTeX
Lean Library Workspace (AKA SciWheel) offers a help article copying the BibTeX details of a reference from Lean Library Workspace to a LaTeX file.
Better BibTeX for Zotero
Better BibTeX (BBT) is a plugin for Zotero and Juris-M that makes it easier to manage bibliographic data, especially for people authoring documents using text-based toolchains (e.g. based on LaTeX / Markdown).
Yale Library Guide to Zotero and LaTeX
A short guide from Yale Library linking to documentation, resources for bibliographic citation styles, and other useful tools to use when citing sources using .bib files and associated packages. This section details using Zotero and LaTeX, with instructions on Better BibTeX.

Mathematics & Statistics

Citing in mathematics: Who is citing whom?

Check a directory

Citation Resources

LaTeX Citations

Research Support

Undergraduates and their instructors should contact:

Grad students, post-docs, faculty and researchers should contact