Getting Started: Key Resources for Materials Science
This Materials Science guide provides links to key information resources and a variety of content including articles, data (properties, crystallography), e-books, as well as encyclopedias and handbooks. Materials science literature areas covered cross various disciplinary areas including: adhesives and epoxies; alloys; biomaterials; ceramics; composites; crystal chemistry; magnetic materials; metals; nanomaterials and nanoparticles; plastics; polymers; superconductors and optical fibres; and more.
Below are key resources to get you started in locating materials science literature.
PLEASE NOTE: Comprehensive literature searching in Materials Science requires consulting a variety of resources which are listed in the Databases section below. Since materials science is comprised of many distinct areas, you should also explore Related Subject Guides.
[Original Content by Cory Craig]
- Materials Science & Engineering Collection This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary database with full-text sources and indexing of global literature supporting materials science research, including metals, polymers, ceramics, composites, and biomaterials and dealing with areas such as corrosion, molding and casting, treatment, recycling, testing, finishing, welding, and forming. Includes widest and deepest bibliographic abstracting for new technologies and engineering research, including civil, mechanical, environmental, earthquake, mechanical, and transportation. - SciFinder [Registration Required] This link opens in a new windowYou must (register for a SciFinder account) before you can use the database (connect to the VPN to access registration page from off-campus).
SciFinder is the most comprehensive bibliographic database for scholarly research in the field of chemistry. It contains over 59 million citations and indexes over 50,000 journals, covering all aspects of chemistry, including chemical aspects of: biology and life sciences, engineering and materials science, food science, geology, medicine, physics, and polymer science. SciFinder also allows searching of chemical substances, chemical reactions, and includes some property data and spectra. It is the online version of Chemical Abstracts.
[Coverage: 1907-present, with selected pre-1907 material]
[Cited Reference Searching: 1996-present, allows you to identify who is citing an article]
NOTE: Commercial use of your University account is strictly prohibited. SciFinder can only be used by UC students, faculty and staff.
- Compendex This link opens in a new windowCompendex is the broadest and most complete engineering literature database available in the world with over 22 million indexed records from 77 countries across 190 engineering disciplines.
[Coverage: 1884-present] - CHEMnetBASE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of searchable major chemical reference works, including: CRC Handbook of Chemistry & Physics, Dictionary of Commonly Cited Compounds, Dictionary of Drugs, Dictionary of Food Compounds, Dictionary of Inorganic and Organometallic Compounds, Dictionary of Marine Natural Products, Dictionary of Natural Products, Dictionary of Organic Compounds, Polymers: A Property Database, Properties of Organic Compounds, and Combined Chemical Dictionary. - REAXYS This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
REAXYS provides property, structure and reaction data for millions of chemical substances (organic, inorganic and organometallic) and chemical reactions. Up to hundreds of fields of chemical and physical property information are available. Reaxys combines the Beilstein Handbook of Organic Chemistry, the Gmelin Handbook of Inorganic and Organometallic Chemistry and the Elsevier Patent Chemistry Database. It is searchable by text keywords, numerical physical and chemical properties, and by chemical structures and substructures.
[Coverage: 1772 - present]
Coverage:
1772 – present Chemical substances
1976 – present Chemical patents
1980 – present Organic chemistry journal articles
1995 – present Inorganic chemistry journal articles
Help:
Reaxys Academy: Learn How to Search Reaxys
Additional REAXYS Training materials
- Springer Series in Materials Science1986-? Robert Hull ed. et al “The Springer Series in Materials Science covers the complete spectrum of materials research and technology, including fundamental principles, physical properties, materials theory and design. Recognizing the increasing importance of materials science in future device technologies, the book titles in this series reflect the state-of-the-art in understanding and controlling the structure and properties of all important classes of materials.”