History of Latin America

This multidisciplinary resource brings together primary source documents about Latin America and the Caribbean. Digitized content of academic journals and news feeds, reference articles and commentary, manuscripts, ephemera, maps and statistics, and multimedia support research on regional topics ranging from the colonial period to the 20th century.
[Coverage: 15th - 20th centuries]

This full-text collection consists of the Confidential Print for Central and South America and the French- and Spanish-speaking Caribbean. Topics covered include slavery and the slave trade, immigration, relations with indigenous peoples, wars and territorial disputes, the fall of the Brazilian monarchy, British business and financial interests, industrial development, the building of the Panama Canal, and the rise to power of populist rulers such as Perón in Argentina and Vargas in Brazil.

The series originated out of a need to preserve important papers generated by the Foreign and Colonial Offices. These range from single-page letters or telegrams to comprehensive dispatches, investigative reports and texts of treaties. All items marked ‘Confidential Print’ were printed and circulated immediately to leading officials in the Foreign Office, to the Cabinet and to heads of British missions abroad.

The Latin American portion of this collection includes full-text content from 24 historic and influential newspapers published in Mexico, Peru, Brazil, Argentina and other Latin American countries. Publication dates range from 1845 to 1922.

This collection contains the periodicals that have been accumulated by the Austrian anarchist, historian and collector Max Nettlau (1865-1944), together with a number of later additions, held at the International Institute of Social History (IISH) in Amsterdam. The collection provides a richness of documentation pertaining explicitly to the formative anarchist and anarcho-syndicalist episode (1890-1920) in the history of Latin American labor movements.

Contains over 400 original-language documentaries from Latin America producers and independent filmmakers supporting Latin American studies, Spanish, and Portuguese. Subjects include human rights, violence, immigration, illiteracy, popular culture, and political history. Materials are presented in their original language with abstracts and indexing in Spanish, Portuguese, and English. Many videos have subtitles. Materials are presented in their original language with abstracts and indexing in Spanish, Portuguese, and English.
[Coverage: 1978-present]

Brings together manuscript, printed and visual primary source materials for the study of global commodities in world history. The commodities featured in this resource have been transported, exchanged and consumed around the world for hundreds of years. They helped transform societies, global trading operations, habits of consumption and social practices.