Film & Media Studies

This internet engine searches for reviews of over 30,000 films from a variety of (mostly free) sites. Older films are reviewed, but by contemporary critics. The site also gives up-to-date listing of top ten box office films.

An archival research resource containing the essential primary sources for studying the history of the film and entertainment industries, from the era of vaudeville and silent movies through to 2000. The core US and UK trade magazines covering film, music, broadcasting and theater are all included, together with film fan magazines and music press titles. Magazines have been scanned cover-to-cover in high-resolution color, with granular indexing of all articles, covers, ads and reviews.
[Coverage: 1880-2000]

Index of performing arts periodicals. (formerly known as International Index to the Performing Arts) [1864 - present] Some publications include full text.
[Coverage: 1864-present]

Database is a comprehensive bibliographic and full-text database covering television and film. Subject coverage includes film and television theory, preservation and restoration, screenwriting, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews. It provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 380 publications, with selected coverage of an additional 300 publications, as well as full text for more than 120 journals, and 100 books. Includes Variety movie reviews from 1914 to present and over 36,300 images from the MPTV Image Archive.
[Coverage: 1914-present]

CineFiles contains scanned images of reviews, press kits, festival and showcase program notes, newspaper articles, and other documents from the PFA Library’s extensive collection covering world cinema, past and present. CineFiles currently includes documents on the films of more than 150 major international directors, materials describing silent Soviet cinema, and PFA’s unique collection of exhibitor manuals, among other documents. Related: PFA Library & Film Study Center: https://bampfa.org/about/film-library-study-center

Film Index International provides indexing of over 125,000 films, and biographical information for over 800,000 personalities. Film coverage extends from silent movies to current films and includes international film awards and prizes, and searchable plot summaries and full cast and crew lists. Based on the Summary of Film and Television database maintained by the British Film Institute.
[Coverage: 1900-Current]

The International Federation of Film Archives (FIAF) provides in-depth coverage over 400 academic and popular film journals. The database includes: the International Index to TV Periodicals; the International Directory of Film/TV Documentation Collections; and Treasures from Film Archives, a detailed index of the silent-era film holdings of archives from around the world.
[Coverage: 1972-present]

Current full-text of the Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, New York Times (including the New York Times Magazine and the New York Times Book Review), Wall Street Journal and the Washington Post. For historical backfiles, see ProQuest Historical Newspapers. Direct Links to the individual papers: http://uclibs.org/PID/301866: Chicago Tribune (1985- ). http://uclibs.org/PID/301869: Los Angeles Times (1985- ). http://uclibs.org/PID/301870: New York Times (1980- ). http://uclibs.org/PID/301871: Wall Street Journal (1984- ). http://uclibs.org/PID/301872: Washington Post (1987- ).

This full text database consists of 5 collections that may be searched in combination or separately. There are two series of African American newspapers (some as recent as the 1990s); two series of Early American Newspapers (From Colonies to Nation and The New Republic) and one set of early (mostly 19th century) California papers.
[Coverage: 1690-1990s]

Searchable database of citations and digitized images of the pages of more than 1100 American magazines and journals published from colonial days to the dawn of the 20th century.
[Coverage: 1741-1940s]

Includes full text and page images of the entire newspaper, including articles, editorials, advertising and images (excluding the Sunday Times) for 1785-2011. The "Access World News" database contains both the daily and Sunday Times, 1985-present.

This site sponsored by the Library of Congress allows you to search and view newspaper pages from 1880-1922 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress as part of the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP). Over a period of approximately 20 years, NDNP will create a national, digital resource of historically significant newspapers published between 1836 and 1922 from all U.S. states and territories. Currently, the site contains selected newspapers from California (The San Francisco Call, Sacramento Record-Union), District of Columbia, Florida, Hawaii, Kentucky, New York, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Texas, Utah, and Virginia and Washington.
[Coverage: 1836-1922 some full text papers; 1690-present is a bibliographic record for newspaper titles]

An electronic version of the classic Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature. Readers' Guide Retrospective, produced by The H. W. Wilson Company, is a database containing comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America. Related: The print version of the Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature (1890-present) is located in the Reference Collection on the Second Floor of Shields Library, AI3.R4
[Coverage: 1890-1982]

The American Film Institute (AFI) Catalog is the most authoritative resource of American film information for the years 1893 - 1971, including summaries, technical and cast information, and bibliographies.
[Coverage: 1893-1971]

Periodicals Index Online is a retrospective index to over 6,000 popular and scholarly periodicals in the humanities and social sciences in multiple (mostly Western) languages. Additional material added annually. Some full-text included.
[Coverage: 1665-recent]

The Arts & Humanities Citations Index within Web of Science (select under Editions dropdown) is a multidisciplinary database covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities. It indexes 1,100 of the world’s leading arts and humanities journals, as well as covering selected, relevant items from over 6,800 major science and social science journals.

Archive of scholarly journals and ebooks in over 50 disciplines spanning the arts, humanities, social sciences and the sciences. For journals, coverage begins with volume one of each title and continues to within 3 to 5 years of the most current issue, with some up-to-date dependent on the title. JSTOR is a not-for-profit organization established with the assistance of the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation.

Project Muse provides full text access to hundreds of journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences and mathematics. It is useful for searching interdisciplinary cultural studies topics. Its full-text search engine permits finer-grained searching than any other index for these journals. Coverage varies by journal.

Abstracts major journals in communication; mass media; and includes topics in interpersonal communication and relations; economics and communication; communication, culture, and society; education and communication and health communication.
[Coverage: 1978-present]