Books & eBooks
- UC Library Search
Sign in (via top right corner) with your UC Davis login for full access to available features, including loan periods, online book renewals, and ability to request items that are in storage or checked out to another borrower. - WorldCat Catalog
OCLC catalog: millions of records for books, journal titles and materials in other formats from approximately 12,000 libraries worldwide. Coverage: 1000 A.D. to the present.
Online Handbooks and Tables
Bridge Engineering Handbook, Five Volume Set by ISBN: 1439852057Publication Date: 2014-01-24Over 140 experts, 14 countries, and 89 chapters are represented in the second edition of the Bridge Engineering Handbook. This extensive collection provides detailed information on bridge engineering, and thoroughly explains the concepts and practical applications surrounding the subject, and also highlights bridges from around the world.
Building Construction Handbook by ISBN: 9781317442165Publication Date: 2016-04-14Ideal for students on all construction courses Topics presented concisely in plain language and with clear drawings Updated to include revisions to Building and Construction regulations.
Earthquake Engineering Handbook by ISBN: 0849300681Publication Date: 2002-09-27Earthquakes are nearly unique among natural phenomena - they affect virtually everything within a region, from massive buildings and bridges, down to the furnishings within a home. Successful earthquake engineering therefore requires a broad background in subjects, ranging from the geologic causes and effects of earthquakes to understanding the impact of these effects on foundations, buildings, structures, the infrastructure, and even their social and economic impact. The Earthquake Engineering Handbook is a comprehensive resource that covers the spectrum of topics relevant to designing for and mitigating earthquakes.
Electronic Instrument Handbook by ISBN: 9780070126183Publication Date: 1999-09-24This handbook details the range of ever-more sophisticated measurement tools used by engineers and technicians.
Handbook of Green Building Design and Construction by ISBN: 9780123851291Publication Date: 2012-10-11Packed with conceptual sketches and photos, real world case studies and green construction details, Handbook of Green Building Design and Construction provides a wealth of practical guidelines and essential insights that will facilitate the design of green buildings. Written in an easy-to-understand style, the Handbook draws on over 35 years of personal experience across the world.
Practical Electronics Handbook by ISBN: 0080469515Publication Date: 2009-01-07Ian Sinclair's Practical Electronics Handbook combines a wealth useful day-to-day electronics information, concise explanations and practical guidance in this essential companion to anyone involved in electronics design and construction.
Standard Handbook for Civil Engineers by ISBN: 9780071433372Publication Date: 2004-01-01A revision of the classic reference covering all important principles and techniques needed by practicing civil engineers.
Structural Engineering Handbook, Fifth Edition by ISBN: 1260115984Publication Date: 2020-05-22A fully updated guide to vital structural engineering principles and design techniques.
The Civil Engineering Handbook by ISBN: 0849309581Publication Date: 2002-08-29First published in 1995, the award-winning Civil Engineering Handbook soon became known as the field's definitive reference.
The International Handbook of FRP Composites in Civil Engineering by ISBN: 9780429124563Publication Date: 2013-09-26Fiber-reinforced polymer (FRP) composites have become an integral part of the construction industry because of their versatility, enhanced durability and resistance to fatigue and corrosion, high strength-to-weight ratio, accelerated construction, and lower maintenance and life-cycle costs.
Comprehensive Dictionary of Electrical Engineering by ISBN: 0849330866Publication Date: 2005-04-12Succinct yet comprehensive coverage of the most important terms, acronyms, and definitions made the first edition of the Comprehensive Dictionary of Electrical Engineering a bestseller. Recent advances in many disciplines of this rapidly growing field have made necessary a new edition of this must-have reference.
The Electrical Engineering Handbook - Six Volume Set by ISBN: 1420049755Publication Date: 2018-12-14In two editions spanning more than a decade, The Electrical Engineering Handbook stands as the definitive reference to the multidisciplinary field of electrical engineering. Our knowledge continues to grow, and so does the Handbook. For the third edition, it has grown into a set of six books carefully focused on specialized areas or fields of study. Each one represents a concise yet definitive collection of key concepts, models, and equations in its respective domain thoughtfully gathered for convenient access.
Handbook of hardware/software codesign by ISBN: 9401772673Publication Date: 2017This handbook presents fundamental knowledge on the hardware/software (HW/SW) codesign methodology.
Energy and Power Generation Handbook by ISBN: 9780791859551Publication Date: 2011-08-30This comprehensive reference contains contributions by over 50 experts from around the world. Topics cover aspects of power generation from all known sources of energy around the globe, including solar, wind, hydro, tidal and wave power, bio energy (including bio-mass and bio-fuels), waste-material, geothermal, fossil, petroleum, gas and nuclear.
Interdisciplinary Collections / eBooks
- Ebook Central Ebooks (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Thousands of ebooks from a wide range of publishers covering many subjects, including business, economics, technology and engineering, humanities, life and physical science, and social and behavioral sciences.
[Coverage varies: 1970s-current] - Ebook Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowThousands of scholarly, reference, and professional full text books covering a broad range of disciplines. Includes titles from academic, university presses and commercial publishers. Scholarly societies, including health sciences host titles, including American Academy of Ophthalmology, on this platform. Individual titles on the Ebook Collection platform can also be found in the library catalog. Some books limited to single user per given borrowing period. To use the Full Download/Checkout functionality for an eBook, a user must create a free individual user account. Some titles can be downloaded and viewed with a DRM reader. May place a hold on a book. Print or copy up to 100 pages per book and user session depending on publisher restrictions.
[Coverage varies: 1950s-current] - UC Press eBooks Collection This link opens in a new windowThe University of California eBooks Collection includes about 2,000 titles and is made available through a partnership between the University of California Press and the California Digital Library's eScholarship program. About 25% of the titles are available to the general public; the rest are for University of California faculty, staff, and students only. Collection emphasizes social science and humanities.
[Coverage: 1982-2004]
Additional UC Press titles are available via the De Gruyter University Press Library
University Press titles may also be available in print or through other online packages and for additional years. Check UC Library Search for access to specific titles. - Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text searching across the ebooks, journals, and major reference works published by Wiley. Disciplines covered include: the sciences, technology, medicine and social sciences. NOTE: We don't license everything from Wiley, but we may have a print copy. If the article or chapter does not have an open lock next to it, check the library catalog or request from another library. Textbooks are generally not included by the publisher. Access for eBooks begins primarily with 2011. Those items available are marked with an open lock icon. - De Gruyter University Press Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary collection of ebooks selected from the front list titles of participating university presses. Participants include: Amsterdam University Press, Columbia University Press, Cornell University Press, Duke University Press, Fordham University Press, Harvard University Press, New York University Press, Princeton University Press, Rutgers University Press, Stanford University Press, University of California Press, University of Chicago Press, University of Pennsylvania Press, University of Toronto Press, and Yale University Press.
UCD has also purchased frontlists for:
Columbia University Press: 2019-2022
Cornell University Press: 2019-2022
Harvard University Press: 2018-2022
University of California Press: 2000-2013 and 2016-2022
Yale University Press: 2019-2022
University Press titles may also be available in print or through other online packages and for additional years. Check UC Library Search for access to specific titles. - O'Reilly for Higher Education This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains over 45,000 titles of technical eBooks, videos, interactive tutorials, case studies, learning paths and audio books from O’Reilly & Associates, including selective titles from 200+ global publishers including McGraw-Hill, Pearson Technology Group (Addison-Wesley, Alpha, Financial Times Prentice Hall, Cisco Press, New Riders, Peachpit Press, Prentice Hall PTR, Que and Sams), HarperCollins, Pakt Publishers, MIT Sloan Management, ASTD, Apress, Amacom, and other learning providers. The subject coverage ranges from Business, Desktop & Web Applications, Data Science & Management, Digital Media, Engineering, Information Technology & Software Development & Architecture, Math & Science, and Personal & Professional Development going back to 2007. This database also contains 30,000+ hours of video including presentations from O’Reilly for Higher Education video. Additional information about how to customize results, develop personalized reading lists, engage in notetaking, and bookmarking is found on the Proquest LibGuide for OHE at: https://proquest.libguides.com/oreilly/
[Coverage: 2007-present] - Taylor & Francis This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text searching across the ebooks and major reference works published by Taylor & Francis and its imprints: CRC Press, Routledge, Garland and Psychology Press. Browse list of titles available. Disciplinary scope and coverage vary. Former CRCnetBASE collections incorporated in this collection include: AGRICULTUREnetBASE, BiomedicalSCIENCEnetBASE, CHEMnetBASE, ENGnetBASE, ENVIROnetBASE, FOODnetBASE, FORENSICnetBASE, MATHnetBASE, NUTRITIONnetBASE, STATSnetBASE and VETnetBASE (VetMed). Also included are newer Burleigh Dodds ebooks for agriculture. See also: Advanced Search and Taylor and Francis journals . - Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text searching across the ebooks, journals, and major reference works published by Wiley. Disciplines covered include: the sciences, technology, medicine and social sciences. NOTE: We don't license everything from Wiley, but we may have a print copy. If the article or chapter does not have an open lock next to it, check the library catalog or request from another library. Textbooks are generally not included by the publisher. Access for eBooks begins primarily with 2011. Those items available are marked with an open lock icon.
Formulas and Calculations
Books from the UCD Library collections
The Political Philosophy of AI by ISBN: 9781509548538Publication Date: 2022-04-19Political issues people care about such as racism, climate change, and democracy take on new urgency and meaning in the light of technological developments such as AI. How can we talk about the politics of AI while moving beyond mere warnings and easy accusations? This is the first accessible introduction to the political challenges related to AI.
Automating Inequality by ISBN: 9781250215789Publication Date: 2019-08-06A powerful investigative look at data-based discrimination and how technology affects civil and human rights and economic equity.
Computational Problems in Engineering by ISBN: 9783319039664Publication Date: 2014-06-20This book provides readers with modern computational techniques for solving variety of problems from electrical, mechanical, civil and chemical engineering.
Electronic Components and Technology by ISBN: 9780849374975Publication Date: 2007-03-02Not only does this book introduce the properties, behavior, fabrication, and use of electronic components, it also helps you grasp and apply sound engineering practice by offering in-depth discussions on topics such as safety and reliability.
Electronic Engineering and Computing Technology by ISBN: 1282926675Publication Date: 2010-12-30Electronic Engineering and Computing Technology contains sixty-one revised and extended research articles written by prominent researchers participating in the conference. Topics covered include Control Engineering, Network Management, Wireless Networks, Biotechnology, Signal Processing, Computational Intelligence, Computational Statistics, Internet Computing, High Performance Computing, and industrial applications.
Information Science and Electronic Engineering by ISBN: 1351966677Publication Date: 2016-12-08This book overs 18 chapters covering Photocurrent characteristics of organic dye copper phthalocyanine transistors; Current transport mechanism analysis of organic dye copper phthalocyanine thin film transistors; and Designing a 12 bit pipeline ADC based on the CMOS process, and more.
