Reference Sources
Consult encyclopedias, handbooks, dictionaries and bibliographies for overviews and basic information about a variety of education topics.
The titles below represent a small selection of the reference sources available through the library. You can use the UC Davis Library Catalog to search for additional print and electronic titles:
- UC Davis Library Catalog: Advanced Search
Search UC Library Search for books, journals (not articles) and other materials available online or in the library.
- Oxford Bibliographies Online This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
See the annotated bibliographies for Education and Childhood Studies.
International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences by
Provides authoritative, foundational, interdisciplinary knowledge across the wide range of behavioral and social sciences fields Discusses history, current trends and future directions. Topics are cross-referenced with related topics and each article highlights further reading.
ISBN: 0080970877Publication Date: 2015
- Encyclopedia of Language and Education (3rd ed.)This 10 volume encyclopedia offers the newest developments, essential to the field of language teaching and learning in the age of globalization.
The Handbook of Bilingual and Multilingual Education by
A comprehensive international reference work of the latest policies, practices, and theories related to the dynamic interdisciplinary field of bilingual and multilingual education. Covers bilingual, multilingual, and multicultural educational policies and practices around the world.
ISBN: 1118533402Publication Date: 2015
The Science of Reading: A Handbook (2nd ed.) by
Presents the most recent advances in the study of reading and related skills. Reviews theoretical approaches, stage models of reading, cross-linguistic studies of reading, reading instruction, the neurobiology of reading, and more.
ISBN: 9781119705130Publication Date: 2022
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Educational Research, Measurement, and Evaluation by
In addition to expected entries covering the basics of traditional theories and methods of educational measurement and evaluation, other entries discuss important sociopolitical issues and trends influencing the future of that research and practice. This comprehensive work covers traditional areas while pointing the way to future developments.
ISBN: 9781506326153Publication Date: 2018
The Cambridge Handbook of the Learning Sciences by
The interdisciplinary field of the learning sciences encompasses educational psychology, cognitive science, computer science, and anthropology, among other disciplines. The Cambridge Handbook of the Learning Sciences, first published in 2006, is the definitive introduction to this innovative approach to teaching, learning, and educational technology.
ISBN: 9781108888295Publication Date: 2022
The Cambridge Handbook of Cognition and Education by
The Handbook includes features that inform readers about how to improve instruction and student achievement based on scientific evidence across different domains, including science, mathematics, reading and writing. Each chapter supplies a description of the learning goal, a balanced presentation of the current evidence about the efficacy of various approaches to obtaining that learning goal, and a discussion of important future directions for research in this area.
ISBN: 9781108416016Publication Date: 2019
Encyclopedia of Mathematics Education by
The Encyclopedia of Mathematics Education is a comprehensive reference text, covering every topic in the field with entries ranging from short descriptions to much longer pieces where the topic warrants more elaboration. The entries provide access to theories and to research in the area and refer to the leading publications for further reading.
ISBN: 3030157881Publication Date: 2020
Encyclopedia of Science Education by
Covers the range of methodologies, perspectives, foci, and cultures of this field of inquiry, via contributions from leading researchers from around the globe.
ISBN: 9400761651Publication Date: 2020
The SAGE Handbook of Research on Teacher Education by
Offers an ambitious and international overview of the current landscape of teacher education research, as well as the imagined futures.
ISBN: 9781473925090Publication Date: 2017
Handbook of Research in the Social Foundations of Education by
Parts one/two present the theoretical lenses used to study the social contexts of education, including disciplines such as sociology of education and philosophy of education as well as newer theoretical perspectives such as critical race theory, feminist educational theory, and cultural studies in education. Parts three/four/five demonstrate how these theoretical lenses are used to examine such phenomena as globalization, media, popular culture, technology, youth culture, and schooling.
ISBN: 1135283796Publication Date: 2011
