Guide Purpose
Use the tools on this guide to get started with your research in Education and related fields.
Key Resources for Education
These databases cover different aspects of the Education literature.The database descriptions provide more information.
- Education Source This link opens in a new windowEducation Source covers all levels of education from early childhood to higher education and also includes educational specialties such as multilingual education, health education and testing. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 2,850 academic periodicals and includes full text for more than 1,800 journals, 550 books and monographs, education-related conference papers, citations for over 4 million articles including book reviews and over 100,000 controlled and cross-referenced names of educational tests. Education Source is designed to meet the needs of education students, professionals and policy makers.
- ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) This link opens in a new windowERIC (Education Resources Information Center) is a database of education research and information sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education and available on the ProQuest platform. ERIC includes citations for journal articles, books, research papers, conference papers, technical reports, policy papers, dissertations, theses, and other materials in the field of education. A majority of the journals are peer reviewed. Documents indexed in ERIC are produced by scholarly organizations, professional associations, research centers, policy organizations, university presses, the U.S. Department of Education and other federal agencies, state agencies, and local agencies. Also, individual contributors submit conference papers, research papers, dissertations, and theses.
[Coverage: 1966-present] - APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
APA PsycInfo is published by the American Psychological Associations and provides comprehensive indexing and abstracts of the international psychological literature from the 1800s to the present. Documents indexed include journals, articles, books, dissertations and more. 90% of the 3,000+ titles indexed in APA PsycInfo are peer-reviewed.
[Coverage: 1840-present] - Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new windowSociological Abstracts, and its companion file Social Services Abstracts, cover the international literature of sociology, social work, and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. It provides abstracting and indexing of articles and book reviews drawn from thousands of serials publications, plus books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers, and working papers.
[Coverage: 1952-present] - Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) This link opens in a new windowThis database abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences and covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Subject coverage includes: Anthropological linguistics, Applied linguistics, Descriptive linguistics, Discourse analysis, Language - pathological and normal, Learning disabilities, Nonverbal communication, Phonetics, Phonology and
Psycholinguistics. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,500 serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, and dissertations.
[Coverage: 1973-present]
