Foundational Information
In this section, users will find some information resources providing overviews of concepts within scholarly research relevant to Chicanx Studies including:
- Methods and methodologies.
- Tertiary sources.
- Theoretical frameworks.
In each tabbed section below, is some context about these concepts, as well as sources to explore on these concepts.
Sage Research Methods is a database that contains resources on topics providing guidance to different research methods, such as surveys, focus groups, and utilizing archival data. Searching within Sage Research Methods will help provide context for various matters relating to understanding and approaching scholarly research.
- Sage Research Methods This link opens in a new windowSage Research Methods (SRM) is an online collection of authoritative information resources (e.g., journals, books, reference, videos, podcasts, cases) on how to perform hundreds of research methods, including statistical analyses, in a wide variety of disciplines (e.g., social science, medicine and health, engineering, public policy). Also includes a suite of research tools (e.g., Methods Map, Project Planning, Which Stats Test?).
[Coverage: 1976-present]
Decolonizing methodologies : research and indigenous peoples by ISBN: 9781350225282"To the colonized, the term 'research' is conflated with European colonialism; the ways in which academic research has been implicated in the throes of imperialism remains a painful memory. This essential volume explores intersections of imperialism and research - specifically, the ways in which imperialism is embedded in disciplines of knowledge and tradition as 'regimes of truth.' Concepts such as 'discovery' and 'claiming' are discussed and an argument presented that the decolonization of research methods will help to reclaim control over indigenous ways of knowing and being. Now in its eagerly awaited third edition, this bestselling book includes a co-written introduction features contributions from indigenous scholars on the book's continued relevance to current research. It also features a chapter with twenty-five indigenous projects and a collection of poetry."-- Provided by publisher.
Cultura y Corazón by Cultura y Corazón is a research approach and practice that is rooted in the work of Latinx and Chicanx scholars and intellectuals. The book documents best practices for Community Based and Participatory Action Research (CBPAR), which is both culturally attuned and scientifically demonstrated. This methodology takes a decolonial approach to engaging community members in the research process and integrates critical feminist and indigenous epistemologies.
- Castañeda, M., & Krupczynski, J. (2021). The power and possibilities of a Latinx community-academic praxis in civic engagement. In Ramos-Zayas, A. Y., & Rúa, M. M. (Eds.). (pp. 491- 503). Critical Dialogues in Latinx Studies : A Reader. New York University Press.
Consulting with tertiary sources, such as encyclopedias, and some bibliographies, help readers “develop a working knowledge of the topics that interest them” (Markey & Knott, 2023, p. 55).
References
Markey, K., & Knott, C. (2023). Online searching: A guide to finding quality information efficiently and effectively. Rowman & Littlefield Publishers.
- Latino Studies BibliographyThis extensive annotated bibliography examines the “field of study that explores the Hispanic minority in the United States, Latino Studies is enriched by an interdisciplinary perspective. Historians, sociologists, anthropologists, political scientists, demographers, linguists, as well as religion, ethnicity, and culture scholars, among others, bring a varied, multifaceted approach to the understanding of a people whose roots are all over the Americas and whose permanent home is north of the Rio Grande.”
Below are some terms on theoretical frameworks that can be incorporated into your scholarship. Searching these concepts within the list of scholarly databases (see research tools tab to your right) linked to in this guide will retrieve more information.
Remember, if you are coupling two words together, add quotation marks around the phrase to help the search retrieve more precise results (otherwise the words will be searched as individual terms). Additionally, you can often use an asterisk (*) to include derivatives of a word. Try multiple versions of the search to see what yields the most results. Remember, you can always schedule time with a librarian to help you develop these search strategies!
Ex: “border* theor*” (quotation marks forces these two words to be searched together, the asterisk includes theories, theory, etc)
- Borderlands theory (“border* theory”)
- Chicana/Latina feminist theory (“latin* femin*”)
- Critical race theory
- Disability theory
- LatCrit
- Queer theory