History of Europe

OCLC catalog of millions of records for books, journal titles and materials in other formats from approximately 12,000 libraries worldwide.
[Coverage: 1000 A.D.-present]

Sacramento State's online catalog.

The Center for Research Libraries (CRL) is an international consortium of university, college, and independent research libraries. Founded in 1949, CRL supports original research and inspired teaching in the humanities, sciences, and social sciences by preserving and making available to scholars a wealth of rare and uncommon primary source materials from all world regions. CRL’s deep and diverse collections (http://www.crl.edu/collections) are built by specialists and experts at the major U.S. and Canadian research universities, who work together to identify and preserve unique and uncommon documentation and evidence, and to ensure its long-term integrity and accessibility to researchers in the CRL community.

"The OED is an historical dictionary of English, covering the language from the earliest times to the present day. Entries contain detailed etymological analysis, illustrated by quotations from a wide range of sources."

Full-text access to dissertations published after 1977, and citations and abstracts for earlier dissertations and theses.  The official offsite dissertations repository for the U.S. Library of Congress.  Contains every title in the UMI Dissertation Abstracts database. Access to works by UC campus authors is free for UC affiliates.
[Coverage: 1861-present]

OATD.org aims to be the best possible resource for finding open access graduate theses and dissertations published around the world. Metadata (information about the theses) comes from over 1000 colleges, universities, and research institutions. OATD currently indexes 2,311,795 theses and dissertations.

The Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD) is an international organization dedicated to promoting the adoption, creation, use, dissemination and preservation of electronic analogues to the traditional paper-based theses and dissertations. This website contains information about the initiative, how to set up Electronic Thesis and Dissertation (ETD) programmes, how to create and locate ETDs, and current research in digital libraries related to NDLTD and ETDs.

Cybertesis.Net is a cooperative project between the Université de Montréal, the Université de Lyon2, the University of Chile and 32 universities in Europe, Africa and Chile that allows access to more than 27,000 full text theses and dissertations. Some institutions have opted to digitize theses dating back to the 1700s.
[Coverage: 1700s-present]

CDMD is a database of dissertations and theses from China, representing nearly 500 PhD-granting institutions and over 775 masters-granting institutions, including the Chinese Academy of Sciences, the Chinese Academy of Social Sciences, and the Chinese Academy of Agriculture, among others. The theses and dissertations are available in Chinese, with an interface in English.

Please note: The British Library is experiencing a major technology outage as a result of a cyber-attack. Access may be limited or unavailable at this time.

Register for a free account to download theses. Almost-complete index of all doctoral level theses awarded by UK universities. You can uncover the latest cutting edge research inside the pages of UK PhD theses, immediately download over 300,000 theses or order many more through the unique EThOS digitisation on demand service. Among other services, EThOS allows one to search, select and in some/many cases download the full-text of items of interest free of charge.