Atmospheric Science

National Centers for Environmental Information, NOAA. “Climate Data Online (CDO) provides free access to NCDC's archive of global historical weather and climate data in addition to station history information. These data include quality controlled daily, monthly, seasonal, and yearly measurements of temperature, precipitation, wind, and degree days as well as radar data and 30-year Climate Normals.”

“The U.S. Drought Portal (www.drought.gov) is the U.S. government’s authoritative drought information website. It provides a one-stop shop for data, decision-support products, resources, and information on drought—from drought monitoring and prediction, to planning and preparedness, to applied research. First launched in 2008 as an online clearinghouse for drought information and science, … Drought.gov offers an essential drought and climate service, improving the nation’s capacity to proactively manage drought-related risks and strengthen communities’ resilience to drought. The U.S. Drought Portal is managed by NOAA’s National Integrated Drought Information System (NIDIS) in partnership with NOAA’s National Centers for Environmental Information (NCEI). The content builds on NIDIS interagency partnerships and leverages federal, tribal, state, and local government data and decision-support products.”

“The Global Historical Climatology Network daily (GHCNd) is an integrated database of daily climate summaries from land surface stations across the globe. GHCNd is made up of daily climate records from numerous sources that have been integrated and subjected to a common suite of quality assurance reviews.
GHCNd contains records from more than 100,000 stations in 180 countries and territories. NCEI provides numerous daily variables, including maximum and minimum temperature, total daily precipitation, snowfall, and snow depth. About half the stations only report precipitation. Both record length and period of record vary by station and cover intervals ranging from less than a year to more than 175 years.“

The National Water Model (NWM) is a hydrologic model that simulates observed and forecast streamflow for the continental United States.

NEON collects “data across the United States on the impacts of climate change, land use change and invasive species on natural resources and biodiversity. NEON is a project of the U.S. National Science Foundation, with many other U.S. agencies and NGOs cooperating.”

NEON is “the first observatory network of its kind designed to detect and enable forecasting of ecological change at continental scales over multiple decades.” The data NEON collects is freely and openly available to all users.

Product list of archive of environmental data including: climate data records; climate monitoring; paleoclimatology; radar meteorology; regional ocean climatologies; satellite meteorology; severe weather; surface weather observations; upper air observations; and weather and climate models.

Includes daily weather observations, news & events archive, WRF model, and links.

The Regional Climate Centers (RCC) deliver climate services at national, regional and state levels working with NOAA partners in the National Climatic Data Center, National Weather Service, the American Association of State Climatologists, the Regional Sciences and Assessment Program, and other NOAA Research Institutes. We also partner with the Department of Interior Climate Science Centers and Landscape Conservation Cooperatives.

For Western U.S. and includes NOAA coop stations climate summaries; local climate data summaries; comparative summaries by state; average statewide precipitation; climate perspectives tool; station data inventories; and climate service providers database.