Newspapers/Periodicals
- American Periodicals Series Online This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Searchable database of citations and digitized images of the pages of more than 1100 American magazines and journals published from colonial days to the dawn of the 20th century.
[Coverage: 1741-1940s]
- Early American NewspapersThis is a subset of America's Historical Newspapers and can be searched separately or in combination with the other parts by selecting them from the dropdown menu. Series 1: From Colonies to Nation and Series 2: The New Republic include newspapers drawn from the American Antiquarian Society and from the collections of other institutions and societies.Note: These parts can be accessed directly using the following URLs. For Part 1: http://uclibs.org/PID/42513 For Part 2: http://uclibs.org/PID/275700.
- Chronicling America This link opens in a new windowThis site sponsored by the Library of Congress allows you to search and view newspaper pages from 1880-1922 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress as part of the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP). Over a period of approximately 20 years, NDNP will create a national, digital resource of historically significant newspapers published between 1836 and 1922 from all U.S. states and territories. Currently, the site contains selected newspapers from California (The San Francisco Call, Sacramento Record-Union), District of Columbia, Florida, Hawaii, Kentucky, New York, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Texas, Utah, and Virginia and Washington.
[Coverage: 1836-1922 some full text papers; 1690-present is a bibliographic record for newspaper titles] - HarpWeek This link opens in a new windowProvides full-image reproductions of Harper's Weekly from 1857-1912, one of the most important weekly magazines read by Americans during the 19th Century.
[Coverage: 1857-1912]