Standards & Specifications List of Resources
- American Association of State Highway and Transportation OfficialsComprehensive webpage for MAP-21 includes questions and answers, fact sheets, reports, presentations, and guidance.
- American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers (ASABE) Technical Library This link opens in a new windowFull text technical documents published by the ASABE, including ASABE Standards, Applied Engineering in Agriculture, Transactions of the ASABE, Journal of Agricultural Safety and Health and Annual Meeting Papers and various conference proceedings. Formerly known as American Society of Agricultural Engineers (ASAE).
[Coverage: varies by title, 1958-present] - American Society of Civil Engineers: ASCE Library This link opens in a new windowProvides access to 97,000 records of ASCE publications, including journals, proceedings, and standards.
[Coverage: 1956-present; full-text articles beginning in 1997] - ASTM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Provides access to active and historical ASTM (American Society for Testing and Materials) Standards, and the ASTM Digital Library, which includes full-text access to symposia and special technical publications. Click yes to accept the license. - IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Digital library providing full text access to technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, electronics, and related disciplines from IEEE journals, transactions, magazines, letters, conference proceedings, standards, IET (Institution of Engineering and Technology) publications, and select AIP/AVS journals.
[Coverage: 1988-present, select journals 1950-present] - SAE Mobilus This link opens in a new windowSAE is a database of technical papers, magazine and journal articles, books, reports, and standards published by the Society of Automotive Engineers.
[Coverage: 1906 - present; full-text for Technical Papers]
- European Telecommunications Standards Institute (ETSI).Produced globally applicable standards for ICT-enabled systems, applications and services deployed across all sectors of industry and society.
- American Water Works AssociationThe American Water Works Association is an international, nonprofit, scientific and educational society dedicated to providing total water solutions assuring the effective management of water.
- National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST)Working with industry and academia to enhance economic security and improve our quality of life.
- American Society of Heating, Refrigerating and Air-Conditioning Engineers (ASHRAE)The online standards review database has been updated to provide greater functionality, offering a single sign-in feature with a dashboard, so users can easily access and highlight those items that require attention.
- National Information Standards Organization (NISO)NISO is where content publishers, libraries, and software developers turn for information industry standards that allow them to work together.
- Department of Defense Single Stock Point (DODSSP)The duties of the DODSSP include electronic document storage, indexing, cataloging, maintenance, publish-on-demand, distribution, and sale of Military Specifications, Standards, and related standardization documents and publications comprising the DODSSP Collection.
Print Resources
- AATCC (American Association of Textile Chemists and Colorists) byCall Number: TP890 .A25Publication Date: 2013-Journal- Shields Library, General Collection.
Holdings: 2013-2020 - ACI Structural Journal (American Concrete Institute) byCall Number: TA680 .A5153Publication Date: 1987-Details and detailing of concrete reinforcement (ACI 315-80)--Manual of engineering and placing drawings for reinforced concrete structures (ACI 315R-80)--Supporting reference data.
- Steel Construction Manual. byCall Number: TA684 .A5 2005Publication Date: 2005Allowable stress design and Load and resistance factor design methods have been combined.
- Uniform building code. byCall Number: KF5701.A39 I5Publication Date: 1991The Uniform Building Code is dedicated to the development of better building construction and greater safety to the public through uniformity in building laws. The Code is founded on broad-based performance principles that make possible the use of new materials and new construction systems.
ANSI University Outreach Program
Faculty interested in getting copies of ISO or IEC Standards for use in the classroom can now get copies for students via the ANSI University Outreach Program.
- Faculty select specific ISO or IEC standards and complete and return the University Outreach Pilot Project enrollment form.
- ANSI sends an e-mail to the faculty member with a unique URL and password for their students to access the standards online and ANSI provides faculty with the University Outreach Pilot Project License Agreement for distribution to all students given access to the free standards.
- Faculty distribute URLs, passwords and the License Agreement to their students.
- Faculty contacts ANSI with any additional requests for resources.
- As they become available, ANSI will contact faculty with additional teaching resources.
- At the end of the semester faculty participate in a brief evaluation of the pilot.
To learn more about access to complimentary standards, the University Outreach Pilot Program, or a copy of the enrollment form, please feel free to message me: Melinda M. Livas (mmlivas@ucdavis.edu).
IHS Demand Driven Standards
Need an industry standard for your research, teaching, or a project? The IHS Standards Expert database searches about 1.6 million standards from 370 technical societies worldwide.
The UC Davis Library will now purchase print copies of standards for UC Davis faculty, students, and staff for the library’s collection and make them available to you.
-
There is no charge to the requester.
-
Delivery times can vary, but should take 7 working days or fewer.
-
You will be notified when the standard is available for use.
Please keep in mind that we already provide full-text online standards from ASTM, IEEE, ASCE, and ASABE and also have current print editions from a handful of other societies and standards bodies. If you aren’t sure if we already have access to a standard, please feel free to contact Melinda M. Livas (mmlivas@ucdavis.edu).
Searching and ordering through the IHS Standards Expert database does require registration. You are not required to request standards through the IHS interface and/or if you happen to already know what standard you need, you can request it by contacting Melinda M. Livas (mmlivas@ucdavis.edu).
ANSI Webstore
- ANSI WebstoreA resource for purchasing standards.