UWP 104F Health Sciences

2020 (10th ed.) Jonathan Law, et al, eds. … “ this market-leading dictionary offers clear and authoritative definitions for all aspects of medical science. It features up-to-date coverage on public health medicine, medical research and general practice, and cardiology, radiology, and dentistry among other specialist areas. This new edition has been revised and updated to reflect advancements in medical research and practice,while over 250 new entries have been added,including American Medical Association, burden of treatment, gaming disorder, MERS, person-centred care, and Zika virus. Recommended web links and detailed illustrations complement the text, and extensive appendices offer useful lists and tables on areas such as inherited medical conditions, units ofalcohol, and abbreviations and symbols.”

2012 (2nd ed.) Carl C. Gaither, eds. et al "... the most comprehensive and carefully researched of its kind, covering all fields of science and mathematics. With this vast compendium you can readily conceptualize and embrace the written images of scientists, laymen, politicians, novelists, playwrights, and poets about humankind's scientific achievements. Approximately 9000 high-quality entries have been added to this new edition to provide a rich selection of quotations for the student, the educator, and the scientist who would like to introduce a presentation with a relevant quotation that provides perspective and historical background on his subject. ... Features an unparalleled collection of 27,000 carefully selected quotations ranging over a vast array of topics from A(tomic Theory) to the Z(eta Function). Provides a one-stop reference for scientific quotations in all fields Includes comprehensive bibliographic information for each quotation Can be searched thematically and by author."

The largest open-access biomedical thesaurus (hierarchical dictionary showing relationships between terms) is the National Library of Medicine's Medical Subject Headings or MeSH which accompanies PubMed or Medline. You can access MeSH directly at the bottom of each PubMed search page. This brief tutorial is designed to help you understand MeSH and to use MeSH to search PubMed for medical literature.

2016 (28th ed.) NOTE: supports only 5 simultaneous users - please exit ebook when finished. “Stedman's Medical Dictionary is the successor to the first American medical dictionary, Dr. Robley Dunglinson's A New Dictionary of Medical Science and Literature, first published in 1833. … This 2016 version includes over 107,000 terms and definitions. Added to this version are 139 new cardio terms and 240 new oncology terms. Over 45 consultants from all the major medical and health science specialties have reviewed each word for accuracy and clarity, including new consultants for the specialties of endocrinology, gastroenterology, geriatrics, rheumatology, cardiology, and oncology.”

2021 (24th ed.) Donald Venes, ed. “Taber's … is today's most comprehensive health science dictionary. …Cyclopedic entries that offer more than just definitions. More than 60,000 reader-friendly definitions, including 3,000 brand-new terms and 7,000 revised terms. Over 1,000 full-color illustrations in the book … More than 600 Patient Care Statements. Caution Statements with new, easy-to-find icon. Dozens of Allied Health and Nursing Appendices.”

Continuously updated open resource available via the National Library of Medicine's MedlinePlus database. "The A.D.A.M. Medical Encyclopedia includes over 4,000 articles about diseases, tests, symptoms, injuries, and surgeries. It also contains an extensive library of medical photographs and illustrations."

2024 (11th ed.) Ian Wilkinson, et al. NOTE: supports only 3 concurrent users - please exit e-book when finished.

Serves as a “unique resource for medical students and junior doctors [and] as a definitive guide to medicine. It is divided into 19 chapters, each covering a core area, including chest medicine, endocrinology, gastroenterology, renal medicine, haematology, infectious diseases, neurology, oncology and palliative care, rheumatology, surgery, clinical chemistry, radiology, practical procedures, and emergency medicine. … It gives reliable advice on what to do, and when and how to do it, with clinical photographs and diagrams that bring theory to life.“

2021 (3rd ed.) Robert Wilkins, et al, eds. This handbook is … “written by biomedical scientists and clinicians to be the definitive guide to the fundamental scientific principles that underpin medicine and the biomedical sciences. It provides a clear and easily digestible account of basic cell physiology, biochemistry, and molecular and medical genetics, followed by chapters integrating the traditional pillars of biomedicine (anatomy, physiology, biochemistry, pathology, and pharmacology) for each of the major systems and processes of the human body: nerve and muscle, musculoskeletal system, respiratory and cardiovascular systems, urinary system, digestive system, endocrine organs, reproductive system, development from fertilization to birth, neuroanatomy and neurophysiology, infection and immunity, and the growth of tissues and organs. Also included are chapters on medicine and society and techniques used in biomedical science research.”

Most of these books are available only in print. "Very Short Introductions offer concise and original introductions to a wide range of subjects. Each volume provides an authoritative and engaging assessment of a concept, field, or body of work, drawing out the central ideas, themes, and approaches. Our expert authors combine facts, analysis, new insights, and enthusiasm to make often challenging topics highly readable to develop your core knowledge."