Getting Started
FACULTY: Elizabeth Maga — eamaga@ucdavis.edu
Use the resources on this guide to find relevant literature on domesticated animal pre- or post-birth maternal behavior. Below are key resources to get you started in locating farm animal behavior literature.
Please note: Comprehensive literature searching in animal behavior areas requires consulting a variety of resources listed in the Databases section.
Librarian Instructors for ANS 2, Spring Quarters - Appointment information
- For Literature Searching Assistance: contact any of your librarian instructors
Please fill out the survey to evaluate the UC Davis Library resources (whether Canvas library module, videos or presentations during your labs the first week of classes)!
Key Resource for ANS 2
The CAB (Commonwealth Agircultural Bureaux) Abstracts database is the most comprehensive literature database for agricultural sciences with excellent information on animal science/livestock.
We will use the Ovid search system/platform for searching CAB Abstracts.
- CAB Abstracts (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and abstracts to the international agricultural literature, including veterinary medicine, human and animal nutrition, forestry, rural development, as well as other related topics such as tourism and human ecology. Covers over 11,000 journals and conference proceedings and selected books in agriculture. Produced by CAB (Commonwealth Agricultural Bureaux) International (CABI) with more than 10 million records. HISTORICAL SCOPE: Archive abstracts added in August 2005 go back to 1910 with 1,860,000 additional records. CAB DATABASE PDFs: As of January 2009, hard-to-find literature may be available as CAB Database PDFs (so noted below the UC-eLinks button). These CABI Full Text items give users automatic access to over 350,000 journal articles, conference papers and reports 80 percent of which are not available electronically anywhere else. NOTE: the default UCD Search Type is set to Advanced Ovid Search.
[Coverage: 1910-present] - BIOSIS Previews This link opens in a new windowBIOSIS Previews is a database for researching the biological sciences literature. Designed by biologists for keeping up with the literature across pure and applied life sciences including agriculture and medicine. Excellent features for searching by taxonomic categories and broad concept codes (subject categories). More than 27 million records in all life science areas, including agriculture, biochemistry, biomedicine, biotechnology, ecology, environmental biology, genetics, microbiology, plant biology, veterinary medicine & pharmacology, and zoology. Indexes over 6,000 journals, serials, books and book chapters, conference proceedings and patents.
[Coverage: 1926-present]
