Find Books in the UC Davis Library Collections
Search for print and ebooks:
There are a variety of useful Library of Congress Subject Headings for Laboratory Animal materials including: Animal Testing Alternatives; Laboratory Animals (with a variety of subheadings such as behavior etc.); Animal Experimentation; Animal Welfare; Laboratory Animal Science — organization & administration and more.
CRC/Taylor & Francis publishes a useful publication series which includes books about lab rodents and rabbits. Search the UCD Library Catalog by title “Laboratory Animal Pocket Reference Series” to locate these resources.
- UC Library Search
Sign in (via top right corner) with your UC Davis login for full access to available features, including loan periods, online book renewals, and ability to request items that are in storage or checked out to another borrower. - Understanding Call Numbers
Explains how to read a Library of Congress call number.
Locate books in person:
Call number ranges to browse in the Shields Library stacks - all on the third floor.
LIBRARY OF CONGRESS CLASSIFICATION OUTLINE @ https://www.loc.gov/catdir/cpso/lcco/
CLASS Q - SCIENCE
QL subclass Zoology
QL1-355 Zoology General, Including geographical distribution
QL605-739.8 Chordates. Vertebrates
QL700-739.8 Mammals
QL750-795 Animal Behavior
CLASS S - AGRICULTURE (General)
SF subclass Animal culture
SF94.5-99 Feeds & Feeding. Animal Nutrition
>>SF405.5-407 Laboratory Animals<<
SF411-459 Pets
SF451-455 Rabbits and Hares
SF600-1100 Veterinary Medicine PLEASE NOTE: with the closure of the Carlson Health Sciences Library in June 2022, print-only Veterinary Medicine publications that are high-use, core titles, reference materials and serials titles will be moved to appropriate locations in Shields Library over 2022-2023.
Key eBooks about Laboratory Animals (Rodents, Rabbits)
- Guide for the Care and Use of Laboratory Animals2011 (8th ed.) Institute for Laboratory Animal Research (ILAR). “A respected resource for decades, the Guide for the Care and Use of Laboratory Animals has been updated by a committee of experts, taking into consideration input from the scientific and laboratory animal communities and the public at large. The Guide incorporates new scientific information on common laboratory animals, including aquatic species, and includes extensive references. It provides a framework for the judgments required in the management of animal facilities. This updated and expanded resource of proven value will be important to scientists and researchers, veterinarians, animal care personnel, facilities managers, institutional administrators, policy makers involved in research issues, and animal welfare advocates.”
- The Laboratory Rabbit, Guinea Pig, Hamster, and other Rodents2012. Mark A. Suckow et al. This “ … single volume, comprehensive book sanctioned by the American College of Laboratory Animal Medicine (ACLAM), covering the rabbit, guinea pig, hamster, gerbil and other rodents often used in research. This well illustrated reference includes basic biology, anatomy, physiology, behavior, infectious and noninfectious diseases, husbandry and breeding, common experimental methods, and use of the species as a research model. With many expert contributors, this will be an extremely valuable publication for biomedical researchers, laboratory animal veternarians and other professionals engaged in laboratory animal science. A new gold standard publication from the American College of Laboratory Animal Medicine series One stop resource for advancements in the humane and responsible care of: rabbit, guinea pig, hamster, gerbil, chinchilla, deer mouse, kangaroo rat, cotton rat, sand rat, and degu Includes up-to-date, common experimental methods Organized by species for easy access during bench research.”
- Laboratory Mouse and Laboratory Rat Procedural Techniques Manuals and DVDs2011 (eBook 2021). John J. Bogdanske. “
Despite the fact that the majority of research animals are rodents, the trainers at the Research Animal Resources Center at the University of Wisconsin-Madison found training material on the proper handling of mice and rats in biomedical research to be limited. So, they developed videos, narratives, pictures, and text to teach common handling … [and more]” - The Laboratory Rat2020 (3rd Ed.) Mark A. Suckow et al. This book “features updated information on a variety of topics, including rats as research models for basic and translational research in areas such as genomics, alcoholism, diabetes, metabolic syndrome, obesity, neuroscience, spinal cord injury, traumatic brain injury, regenerative medicine, and infectious disease. New information related to the husbandry and veterinary care of rats is provided including topics related to nutrition, reproduction, anesthesia and surgery, infectious and noninfectious disease, and the care of surgical and other fragile models. It is a premier source of information on the laboratory rat, this book will be of interest to veterinary and medical students, senior graduate students, postdocs and researchers who utilize animals in biomedical research.”
- The Laboratory Mouse2012 (2nd Ed.) Hans J. Hedrich. A “comprehensive book written by international experts. With inclusions of the newly revised European standards on laboratory animals, this will be the most current, global authority on the care of mice in laboratory research. This well-illustrated edition offers new and updated chapters including immunology, viruses and parasites, behavior, enrichment and care standards of laboratory mice across the life sciences, medical and veterinary fields. Features four-color illustrations with complete instruction on mouse surgery, anat.”
Access eBooks online via the databases:
The following eBook collections are useful in searching the entire online text of books for specific chapters or book sections on your project topics.
- Animal Studies: Law, Welfare, and Rights [via HeinOnline]2015-present. HeinOnline collection which includes “1,600 titles and more than 540,000 pages related to the background and evolution of the basic rights of animals. From philosophical books dating back to the 1800s, to videos, publications, and brochures. … essential to any researcher looking for a wealth of information on animal law. With titles from the Animal Legal Defense Fund and Animal Welfare Institute, this collection aims to establish the foundational laws pertaining to animals and follow the evolution of these rights throughout the years. Resources include:
* Animal Legal Defense Fund publications
* Animal Welfare Institute publications
* Philosophical books dating back to the 1800s
* Compiled legislative histories
* Congressional hearings
* Periodicals
* Code of Federal Regulations Titles 9 & 50
* Much more!
NOTABLE TITLES
* Animals' Advocate, 1985-current
* U.S. Animal Protection Laws and Rankings, 2006-2017
* AWI Quarterly, 1951-2018
* Journal of Animal & Environmental Law, 2009-2018
* Animal Welfare Approved Newsletter, 2008-2014
* Crimes without Consequences: The Enforcement of Humane Slaughter in the United States, 2008 - Springer eBooks CollectionSpringer eBooks includes more than 60,000 titles in English (and selectively in German) from every scientific discipline and many social sciences. Coverage: 2005-2020. This online interface enables all books to be searchable at the full-text level. Scope (textbook areas are starred) ranges from Architecture and Design, *Behavioral Science, *Biomedical and Life Sciences, *Business and Economics, *Chemistry and Materials Science, *Computer Science, *Earth and Environmental Science, *Engineering, *Humanities & Social Sciences and Law, *Mathematics and Statistics, *Medicine, *Physics and Astronomy, to Professional and Applied Computing. NEW books are added monthly. NOTE: Springer puts out new year titles 6 months before the new year date. Our contract is from Jan-Dec so a very recent book may not be accessible the first months of the new year. For example a 2021 book may be released in August 2020 but is NOT accessible until well into 2021.
Read Less
Coverage: 2005-2022 - Science Direct eBook CollectionThousands of e-books with broad and favorable rights for scientific, scholarly and educational uses. Subjects include life, health and physical sciences, social sciences, and the humanities. EXCLUSIONS to the Elsevier collection are textbooks, major reference works, some professional and trade titles, and consumer books. NOTE: Green symbol on right indicates if accessible.
- De Gruyter University Press Library This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary collection of ebooks selected from the front list titles of participating university presses. Participants include: Amsterdam University Press, Columbia University Press, Cornell University Press, Duke University Press, Fordham University Press, Harvard University Press, New York University Press, Princeton University Press, Rutgers University Press, Stanford University Press, University of California Press, University of Chicago Press, University of Pennsylvania Press, University of Toronto Press, and Yale University Press.
UCD has also purchased frontlists for:
Columbia University Press: 2019-2022
Cornell University Press: 2019-2022
Harvard University Press: 2018-2022
University of California Press: 2000-2013 and 2016-2022
Yale University Press: 2019-2022
University Press titles may also be available in print or through other online packages and for additional years. Check UC Library Search for access to specific titles.
- Wiley eBooks CollectionFull-text searching and access to more than 22,000 ebooks from the life, physical, health, and social sciences, as well as the humanities disciplines.
Coverage: 1790 - present
Veterinary Medicine/Agriculture
- CAB eBooks This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
CABI ebooks provides access to over 1,200 titles in the areas of: Agriculture, Forestry and Food; Veterinary and Animal Sciences; Environmental and Natural Sciences; Plant Sciences; Human Health; Biotechnology, Engineering, Mathematics, Statistics and Techniques; Natural, Medicinal and Industrial End-products; Economics and Social Sciences; and Tourism, Hospitality, and Travel. Note: This collection includes a majority of titles published by CAB, but not all titles. In particular, the publisher has chosen not to include textbooks in this package.
[Coverage: 2000-present]
- Wageningen Academic Publishers eBooksUC Davis has current years of eBooks licensed from this large university publisher of agriculture-related books. “Wageningen Academic Publishers is an independent STM publisher operating worldwide in the field of Life Sciences. Located at the heart of one of the world’s most famous food & agriculture research centres, we focus on topics in Animal and Veterinary, Food and Health, Agribusiness and Rural Studies, Agriculture and Environment. We currently publish ... around 30 new books per year.” Exclusions: textbooks