Research Guides: ABG 202: Animal Biology Grant Writing: Government Publication Collections

Government Publication Collections

Government publications are useful for animal science or wildlife biology research whether at an international, national/federal, state or local organizational or agency level. Technical reports are essential for wildlife research including resources from federal and state fish and wildlife agencies.

National Technical Reports Library This link opens in a new window
Government-sponsored research, development and technical reports with full-text access to digitized reports published by the National Technical Information Service (NTIS), Department of Commerce. Search more than 3 million reports with links to over 800,000 full-text reports.
[Coverage: 1964-present]
National Digital Library (US Fish & Wildlife Service) This link opens in a new window
Free online digital media library from US F&WS. Wide assortment of selected images, publications (including historic documents, oral histories and more), video and audio clips, and maps that are in the public domain.
Document Library (California Department of Fish and Wildlife) This link opens in a new window
The California Department of Fish & Wildlife (DFW) Document Library is an online repository of thousands of DFG related documents from California agencies, contractors, and related non-governmental organizations. In addition to advanced searching for title, author, subject, keywords, and date ranges, all documents in the DFG Document Library are organized by Categories. "Browse By Category" is a convenient way to see all available groupings and learn which DFG function or program is responsible for each category. You may also view a complete list of DFG documents and then link directly to that program's web page. The majority of documents digitized are from the 2000s with the largest collection of documents on "California Wildlife Habitat Relationships". NOTE: CA DFG (Department of Fish adn Game) changed to CA DFW (Department of Fish and Wildlife) in January 2013.
EPA National Service Center for Environmental Publications This link opens in a new window
EPA's central repository of all EPA documents with over 7,000 titles available in paper or electronic form.

Animal Welfare Information Center
“The Animal Welfare Information Center (AWIC) was established in 1986 as part of the U.S. Department of Agriculture's (USDA) National Agricultural Library (NAL) in Beltsville, Maryland. As a library service, AWIC provides information, products and services related to the improved care and use of animals in research, testing, and teaching as described in the Animal Welfare Act“ Key products and services includ the Animal Welfare Act Historical Digital Collection (AWAHDC); Workshops on Meeting the Requirements of the Animal Welfare Act; and 3Rs Alternatives Literature Search Support.
Literature Searching for Animal Use Alternatives | Animal Welfare Information Center
“The National Agricultural Library's Animal Welfare Information Center (AWIC) provides guidance on building and conducting a 3Rs (replacement, reduction, refinement of animal use) alternatives literature search. This page details instructions for finding 3Rs alternatives along with other resources to assist individuals working with animals in research, testing, and teaching.

The Animal Welfare Information Center (AWIC) was established in 1986 as part of the U.S. Department of Agriculture's (USDA) National Agricultural Library (NAL) in Beltsville, Maryland. As a library service, AWIC provides information, products and services related to the improved care and use of animals in research, testing, and teaching as described in the Animal Welfare.”