Key Resources for ABG 202: Animal Biology Grant Writing
Use the resources on this guide to find relevant literature for your UCD animal-related grant proposal literature review. In addition, tips for locating publications on grant-writing and grantseeking are included.
This guide lists resources related to animal science (domesticated animals) and wildlife biology which are useful for locating literature across a range of topics including: anatomy and physiology, behavior, breeding and reproduction, ecology, feeding and nutrition, genetics, molecular biology, systematics and taxonomy, and more.
Below are key resources to get you started in locating animal-related literature.
Please note:
Comprehensive literature searching in animal research areas requires consulting a variety of resources which are exhaustively listed in the Databases section. Since animal-related literature crosses many disciplines, you should also explore Related Guides.
Take the new library survey for ABG 202 library presentations: please note that you choose your librarian instructor first and then other choices will follow. Classes offered by: Ruth Gustafson.
Here is the Library Survey !
Key Animal-related Literature Databases
Search BIOSIS Previews or Zoological Record for the basic biology of any animal including: anatomy and physiology, behavior, ecology, genetics, molecular biology, nutrition and feeding, reproduction, and taxonomy and systematics. NOTE: Zoological Record is an essential database for taxonomy, systematics, and new species records. Zoological Record is the first database to search for wildlife, particularly rare and endangered species.
Search ASFA (Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts) for any aquatic animal literature (freshwater, brackish, marine). Complementary to BIOSIS Previews.
Search CAB Abstracts for livestock, poultry and any animal that is essential to agriculture or any animal that is a pest in agriculture including methods of biocontrol of pests. CAB Abstracts is also a core database for Veterinary Medicine along with PubMed.
PubMed is useful for publications on animal models for human health as well as veterinary medicine. Note that PubMed nearly exclusively indexes journals - for coverage of books, conferences, and much more, use CAB Abstracts or BIOSIS Previews.
-
BIOSIS Previews This link opens in a new windowBIOSIS Previews is a database for researching the biological sciences literature. Designed by biologists for keeping up with the literature across pure and applied life sciences including agriculture and medicine. Excellent features for searching by taxonomic categories and broad concept codes (subject categories). More than 27 million records in all life science areas, including agriculture, biochemistry, biomedicine, biotechnology, ecology, environmental biology, genetics, microbiology, plant biology, veterinary medicine & pharmacology, and zoology. Indexes over 6,000 journals, serials, books and book chapters, conference proceedings and patents.
[Coverage: 1926-present] -
Zoological Record This link opens in a new windowPrimary database for wildlife researchers. The oldest continuing database of animal biology - designed to include all records of new species information and naming. Comprehensive coverage of zoology; including behavior, conservation and environmental science, ecology, evolution, genetics, habitat, marine and freshwater biology, nutrition, parasitology and disease, reproduction, taxonomy and systematics, veterinary studies, zoogeography and fossil records. Especially strong in new species reports and field studies.
[Coverage: 1864-Present] -
Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA) This link opens in a new windowEditorially-curated A&I resources in the fisheries, aquatic, and marine sciences. Sources include scholarly journals, dissertations, reports, conference proceedings, and grey literature in English and multiple other languages.
This database is produced in partnership with the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations -
CAB Abstracts (Ovid) This link opens in a new windowProvides citations and abstracts to the international agricultural literature, including veterinary medicine, human and animal nutrition, forestry, rural development, as well as other related topics such as tourism and human ecology. Covers over 11,000 journals and conference proceedings and selected books in agriculture. Produced by CAB (Commonwealth Agricultural Bureaux) International (CABI) with more than 10 million records. HISTORICAL SCOPE: Archive abstracts added in August 2005 go back to 1910 with 1,860,000 additional records. CAB DATABASE PDFs: As of January 2009, hard-to-find literature may be available as CAB Database PDFs (so noted below the UC-eLinks button). These CABI Full Text items give users automatic access to over 350,000 journal articles, conference papers and reports 80 percent of which are not available electronically anywhere else. NOTE: the default UCD Search Type is set to Advanced Ovid Search.
[Coverage: 1910-present] -
PubMed for UC Davis This link opens in a new windowPubMed for UC Davis offers users vastly more full-text articles than does the public version of Pubmed.gov. Search results in the UCD version display "Get it at UC" buttons providing (with on-campus or VPN connection) access to articles in journals licensed by UC Davis or enabling patrons to request articles that are not immediately available online. PubMed comprises over 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. PubMed citations and abstracts include the fields of biomedicine and health, covering portions of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering. PubMed also provides access to additional relevant web sites and links to the other NCBI molecular biology resources. PubMed is a free resource that is developed and maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM), located at the National Institutes of Health (NIH).
[Coverage: 1902-present]
What to do if PubMed is inaccessible?
The following are UC Davis Library database backups if PubMed (U.S. Government database produced by NLM – National Library of Medicine which is an Institute of the NIH – National Institutes of Health) becomes inaccessible. Note that MEDLINE is the core from which the PUBlic version of MEDLINE (PubMed) is produced. These MEDLINE database backups are listed in order of ease of use. For all databases below make sure the Library VPN Ivanti is CONNECTed if you are off campus.
* MEDLINE – available through the Web of Science search platform
* Ovid MEDLINE – available via the Ovid search platform
* Embase – incorporates MEDLINE into this European medical database