Women's History

This database includes searchable full text historical documents, a number of document projects based around key questions, teaching tools, plus book, film and website reviews.

Includes the full text of diaries and letters of more than 100 women from the 18th and 19th centuries, with biographies and an extensive annotated bibliography on women's narratives.
[Coverage: 1675-1950]

Provides thousands of fully searchable images of monographs, pamphlets, periodicals and broadsides addressing 19th and early 20th century political, social and gender issues, religion, race, education, employment, marriage, sexuality, home and family life, health, and pastimes. The bulk of the collection is from Duke’s Sallie Bingham Center for Women’s History and Culture and The New York Public Library.

The Women's Studies modules in History Vault consist of records of suffrage organizations and other women's rights organizations; personal papers of women's rights advocates, many of whom were involved in the suffrage movement; and records on women at work during World War II.

A searchable, full-text collection of books and periodicals reflecting the evolution of a feminist consciousness and women's rights. The texts, collected between the late 1800s and 1945 are in fifteen different languages and cover four centuries.
[Coverage: 1543-1945]

"This resource brings together hundreds of accounts by women of their travels across the globe from the early 19th century to the late 20th century. Students and researchers will find sources covering a variety of topics including; architecture; art; the British Empire; climate; customs; exploration; family life; housing; industry; language; monuments; mountains; natural history; politics and diplomacy; race; religion; science; shopping; war. A wide variety of forms of travel writing are included, ranging from unique manuscripts, diaries and correspondence to drawings, guidebooks and photographs. The resource includes a slideshow with hundreds of items of visual material, including postcards, sketches and photographs."

Explores prominent themes in world history since 1820: conquest, colonization, settlement, resistance, and post-coloniality, as told through women's voices. With a clear focus on bringing the voices of the colonized to the forefront, this highly-curated archive and database includes documents related to the Habsburg Empire, the Ottoman Empire, the British, French, Italian, Dutch, Russian, Japanese, and United States Empires, and settler societies in the United States, New Zealand and Australia.
[Coverage: 1820-2000]

Digital archive including 150,000 pages of conference proceedings, reports of international women's organizations, publications and web pages of women's non-governmental organizations, and letters, diaries, and memoirs of women active internationally since the mid-nineteenth century. It also includes photographs and videos of major events and activists in the history of women’s international social movements and essays exploring themes illuminated by the primary documents in the archive.

A series of primary source collections includes manuscripts, newspapers, periodicals, and images. Focus includes social, political, and professional achievements as well as evolution of social movements by women throughout the nineteenth and twentieth century. Coverage focuses on women’s political activism such as suffrage, birth control, pacifism, civil rights, and socialism across multiple geographic regions. Particular attention has been paid to material produced by women.
[Coverage: 19th century - 20th century]