Clinical Resources
These resources are geared for quick reference point-of-care tools or clinically specific resources.
Recommended:
Atlas of Normal Radiographic Anatomy and Anatomic Variants in the Dog and Cat by
Equip yourself to make accurate diagnoses and achieve successful treatment outcomes with this highly visual comprehensive atlas. Featuring a substantial number of new high contrast images, Atlas of Normal Radiographic Anatomy and Anatomic Variants in the Dog and Cat, 2nd Edition provides an in-depth look at both normal and non-standard subjects along with demonstrations of proper technique and image interpretations. Expert authors Donald E. Thrall and Ian D. Robertson describe a wider range of "normal" as compared to competing books - not only showing standard dogs and cats, but also non-standard subjects such as overweight and underweight pets and animals with breed-specific variations. Every body part is put into context with a textual description to help explain why a structure appears as it does in radiographs, and enabling practitioners to appreciate variations of normal that are not included, based on an understanding of basic radiographic principles. Radiographic images of normal or standard prototypical animals are supplemented by images of non-standard subjects exhibiting breed-specific differences, physiologic variants, or common congenital malformations. Images that depict a wider range of "normal" - such as images that detail the natural growth and aging characteristics of normal pediatric and senior animals - prevents clinical under- and over-diagnosing. In-depth coverage of patient positioning and radiographic exposure guidelines assist clinicians in producing the very best results. Unlabeled radiographs along side labeled counterparts clarifies important anatomic structures of clinical interest. High-quality digital images provide excellent contrast resolution and better visibility of normal structures to assist clinicians in making accurate diagnoses. Brief descriptive text and explanatory legends accompany all images to help put concepts into the proper context. An overview of radiographic technique includes the effects of patient positioning, respiration, and exposure factors. NEW! Companion website features additional radiographic CT scans and more than 100 questions with answers and rationales. NEW! Additional CT and 3D images have been added to each chapter to help clinicians better evaluate the detail of bony structures. NEW! Breed-specific images of dogs and cats are included throughout the atlas to help clinicians better understand the variances in different breeds. NEW! Updated material on oblique view radiography provides a better understanding of an alternative approach to radiography, particularly in fracture cases. NEW! 8.5" x 11" trim size makes the atlas easy to store.
Call Number: e-BookPublication Date: 2015
Diagnostic Imaging of Exotic Pets by
This comprehensive atlas covers birds, small mammals and reptiles. All imaging techniques have been included: radiography, sonography, CT and MRI. It is an ideal supplement to literature presently available on imaging diagnostics for small animals. The book is divided into sections for each type of pet so that relevant information and visual references can be rapidly consulted. Every section begins with the anatomical illustration of the relevant part of the body with respect to each of the individual diagnostic procedures. In the second part of the book, the most common pathological conditions are depicted according to organ system and discussed comparatively. This comparative presentation enables a quick and correct diagnosis in conjunction with using the most suitable diagnostic techniques. All radiographic, sonographic, CT and MRI images are clearly labelled. Containing over 1,400 illustrations, this atlas is an unrivaled resource for veterinarians in pratice and training dealing with small animals, birds and reptiles.
Call Number: E-bookPublication Date: 2013
Handbook of Small Animal Radiology and Ultrasound by
The Handbook of Small Animal Radiology and Ultrasound: Techniques and Differential Diagnoses provides a user-friendly reference for a wide range of radiographic and ultrasonographic findings in dogs and cats. Key features Enables successful and clear interpretation of radiographs and ultrasonograms Offers clearly sequenced text arrangement from the identification of the radiographic or sonographic abnormalities to a list of subsequent considerations for each sign Prioritizes different clinical findings to tailor further diagnostic tests or therapeutic interventions Takes imaging abnormalities from the descriptive to the interpretative New to this edition Colour throughout enhances user-friendliness Many new conditions Extra illustrations show techniques and normal anatomy Additional information on techniques, normal appearance and disease processes Expanded Further Reading sections This book is intended for all users of small animal diagnostic imaging, from radiologists through to general practitioners to veterinary students, and will be an invaluable supplement to existing references in the subject.
Call Number: e-BookPublication Date: 2010
Radiology of Birds by
Use this atlas to interpret radiographic images and make accurate diagnoses! Hundreds of high-quality images clearly demonstrate normal avian anatomic and radiographic features in a wide variety of species so that you can recognize abnormal features. This book includes detailed directions for patient positioning along with radiographic exposure guidelines, ensuring that you obtain the highest quality diagnostic images. Complete directions for positioning during radiographic examination help you take high-quality radiographs for accurate interpretation. Radiographic exposure guidelines are provided for each species and radiographic view, so you can determine optimal settings and technique. Line drawings are superimposed on radiographic images, so you can identify anatomic structures accurately. Alternative imaging studies - including CT, MRI, ultrasound, GI, urogram, and other contrast media studies -allow advanced diagnostic interpretation. A companion CD includes all of the radiographic images in the book for digital monitor viewing.
Call Number: e-BookPublication Date: 2009
Radiology of Rodents, Rabbits and Ferrets by
This text offers essential coverage of normal radiographic anatomy of small mammal species including rabbit, ferret, guinea pig, chinchilla, hamster, mouse, and rat. Historically used as laboratory animals, these "pocket pets" now have increasingly higher companion animal value and owners are more commonly seeking medical care for them. This resource is designed to help veterinarians meet increasing client demand for services. It provides an understanding of normal anatomic and radiographic features that will help clinicians more easily identify abnormal features to reach an accurate diagnosis.This is the only book of its kind for these species, designed to help practitioners expand the range of services offered for exotic and "pocket" pets.Provides complete directions for positioning each species during radiographic examination to obtain the highest quality images for accurate interpretation.Includes alternative imaging modalities such as CT, MRI, and ultrasound, for advanced diagnostic interpretation.Features radiographic exposure guidelines for each species and each radiographic view, for determining optimal settings and technique.Helpful line drawings are superimposed on radiographic images for accurate identification of anatomic structures.Covers contrast media studies that can enhance detail for radiographic interpretation in species where soft tissue density detail is poor.
Call Number: e-BookPublication Date: 2004
