Scholarly Articles
Use the databases suggested below to search for scholarly articles. See the library’s Research Guides to find additional relevant databases by academic discipline.
What is a scholarly article?
Scholarly articles are published in journals and undergo a process called peer review, which means they are vetted by experts prior to publication. These experts evaluate articles that are submitted to a journal, and make recommendations to the journal editors about whether or not an article should be published. Academic articles include highly specialized content and they are written assuming readers are already familiar with the research area.
- Education Source This link opens in a new windowEducation Source includes peer reviewed articles that span all levels of education from early childhood to higher education. Subjects include multilingual education, health education, reading and literacy, language and linguistics, math education, science education, special education, multicultural education, teaching methods and more.
- ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) This link opens in a new windowERIC is supported by the U.S. Department of Education. It includes citations for peer reviewed articles, as well as reports, conference papers and books on a wide variety of education-related topics. A free version of ERIC is available after you graduate from UC Davis.
- APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
APA PsycInfo is published by the American Psychological Association. It includes citations for peer reviewed articles and other scholarly sources from the field of Psychology, but also Education, Linguistics and Sociology. - Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) This link opens in a new windowLinguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) includes citations to peer reviewed articles and other scholarly content in linguistics and other apsects of the study of language.
- Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new windowSociological Abstracts includes peer reviewed articles and other scholarly content from the field of Sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
Search Tips
1. Limits/Filters: To focus your search, utilize database features that allow you to specify criteria such as date and publication type, e.g. peer reviewed journals.
2. Sort Order: Note how your search results are organized – many databases sort by date (most recent articles first) rather than relevance.
3. Subject Terms/Descriptors: Pay attention to the subject terms associated with relevant articles because they can lead to other sources on your topic.
4. Get an Article: If the full article is not available, look for 
. Use interlibrary loan to request copies of books, articles and other items that are not available through Get it at UC.
5. Not Satisfied? If you are not finding relevant results about your topic, try different combinations of search terms, or select another search tool.