Academic Research Articles
Academic research articles are published in scholarly journals. They are highly specialized and their primary audience is experts in a field. They are written assuming readers are already familiar with the research area.
1. Watch
Learn how to use Academic Search Complete to identify peer reviewed articles; access fulltext articles; and navigate the library’s Subject Guides to find additional databases.
- START HERE! Academic Search Complete (3:22)
- Accessing Articles through UCD-eLinks (2:01)
- Locating Articles Through Subject Guides (4:16)
2. Search
Use the scholarly databases listed below to find academic research articles. Check the Subject Guides for additional databases.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowAcademic Search Complete is a multidisciplinary database broadly covering newspapers, magazines and journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, sciences and technology.
[Coverage: 1887-present] - Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) This link opens in a new windowLinguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. The database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Complete coverage is given to various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,500 serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, and dissertations.
[Coverage: 1973-present] - Communication Abstracts This link opens in a new windowAbstracts major journals in communication; mass media; and includes topics in interpersonal communication and relations; economics and communication; communication, culture, and society; education and communication and health communication.
[Coverage: 1978-present] - Education Source This link opens in a new windowEducation Source is designed to meet the needs of education students, professionals and policy makers. The collection provides indexing and abstracts for more than 2,850 academic periodicals and includes full text for more than 1,800 journals, 550 books and monographs, education-related conference papers, citations for over 4 million articles including book reviews and over 100,000 controlled and cross-referenced names of educational tests. Coverage in Education Source spans all levels of education from early childhood to higher education and also includes educational specialties such as multilingual education, health education and testing.
- ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) This link opens in a new windowThe ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to educational-related literature. ERIC provides ready access to education literature to augment American education by increasing and facilitating the use of educational research and information to improve practice in learning, teaching, educational decision-making, and research. ERIC provides coverage of journal articles, conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs.
[Coverage: 1966-present] - MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new windowThe Modern Language Association International Bibliography (MLAIB) covers international scholarly materials on all languages, literatures, linguistics, and folklore from around the world. It includes citations to items from journals, series, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies. MLAIB does not index book reviews.
[Coverage: 1926-present] - JSTOR This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Archive of scholarly journals and ebooks in over 50 disciplines spanning the arts, humanities, social sciences and the sciences. For journals, coverage begins with volume one of each title and continues to within 3 to 5 years of the most current issue, with some up-to-date dependent on the title. JSTOR is a not-for-profit organization established with the assistance of the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation.
