Theatre, Dance, and Performance Studies

BASE is one of the world's most voluminous search engines especially for academic open access web resources. BASE is operated by Bielefeld University Library.

Design and Applied Arts Index (DAAI) contains abstracts and bibliographic records for articles, news items, and reviews published in design and applied arts periodicals from 1973 onwards. A tool for students, researchers, and practitioners worldwide, DAAI covers both new designers and the development of design and the applied arts since the mid-19th century, surveying disciplines including ceramics, glass, jewelry, wood, metalsmithing, graphic design, fashion and clothing, textiles, furniture, interior design, architecture, computer aided design, Web design, computer-generated graphics, animation, product design, industrial design, garden design, and landscape architecture. DAAI contains more than 212,000 records, with around 1,200 new records added in each monthly update. Subject coverage includes: Advertising, packaging and product design; Architecture; Crafts; Ceramics, glass and jewelry; Industrial design; Graphic design; Fashion and textiles; Sustainable design; Furniture and interior design; and Fiber arts.
[Coverage: 1973-present]

The Modern Language Association International Bibliography (MLAIB) covers international scholarly materials on all languages, literatures, linguistics, and folklore from around the world. It includes citations to items from journals, series, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies. MLAIB does not index book reviews.
[Coverage: 1926-present]

Music & Performing Arts cross-searches audio, video, scores, and full-text reference content pertaining to music, film, dance and drama, for more than 75 Alexander Street Press collections. Spans all time periods, representation from diverse groups, many cultures, historic periods and geographic regions, highlighting hundreds of thousands of seminal artists, composers, choreographers, and ensembles. Music includes opera, jazz, popular, contemporary world music, Smithsonian Global Sound, and enthnographic sound archives. Reference includes: The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music. Film include documentaries, The Criterion Collection, Sony Pictures Classic Collection, silent movies, broad geographic representation including U.S. Britain, U.S. Eastern Europe, Russia, France, Germany, Italy, Japan and other Asian cultures. Searchable by film directors, awards and genres. Drama incorporates diverse representation of groups including North American Native Indian, Black, Latin American and Women. Dramatic works include Broadway, LA Theatre Works, National Theater and more. Includes film scripts and music periodicals.
[Coverage: 1500s-current]

This database provides indexing and abstracts for several hundred international music periodicals from over 20 countries, plus full text for more than 140 of the indexed journals. Includes over 1.3 million records, the majority from the most recent ten years of publication. Some complete journal runs are included. Covers the full spectrum of subjects and all aspects of music, including music education, performance, ethnomusicology, musical theatre, theory, popular music forms and composition. 
[Coverage: 1874 - current]

Index of performing arts periodicals. (formerly known as International Index to the Performing Arts) [1864 - present] Some publications include full text.
[Coverage: 1864-present]

Offers the searchable full text of more than 1,500 plays from the colonial period to the beginning of the twentieth century. This database is also available through Literature Online (LION).
[Coverage: 1714-1915]

More than 250 plays, some previously unpublished, along with related biographical, production, and theatrical information.
[Coverage: late 19th century-present]

Black Drama contains the full text of hundreds of plays by playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries. Also contains theatrical production information.
[Coverage: 1850-present]

Archive of scholarly journals and ebooks in over 50 disciplines spanning the arts, humanities, social sciences and the sciences. For journals, coverage begins with volume one of each title and continues to within 3 to 5 years of the most current issue, with some up-to-date dependent on the title. JSTOR is a not-for-profit organization established with the assistance of the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation.

North American Women's Drama includes full text of over 1000 plays, together with detailed information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. Approximately 20% of the titles have never been previously published. The collection begins with the works of Mercy Otis Warren and Susanna Haswell Rowson in the colonial period and spans the 19th and 20th centuries to the present.

Project Muse provides full text access to hundreds of journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences and mathematics. It is useful for searching interdisciplinary cultural studies topics. Its full-text search engine permits finer-grained searching than any other index for these journals. Coverage varies by journal.

Full-text biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline. Combines core literary resources such as Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism Select, and the Dictionary of Literary Biography.

Inter-Play is an on-line index to plays in collections, anthologies, and periodicals. Separately-published plays are not included, but this is the fastest way to find play titles buried in anthologies and other compilations.
[Coverage: approximately 1800-present]

North American Theater Online is a comprehensive reference work covering all aspects of the Canadian and American Theater. It includes some 40,000 pages of major reference materials, together with records to approximately 30,000 plays, 57,000 people, 5,400 theatres, 22,000 productions, and 2,500 production companies. Each year we'll add more than 20,000 new records. The collection also includes approximately 10,500 images, playbills, postcards, scrapbooks and other resources.

Provides full-text information and perspectives from over 600 U.S. and over 700 international sources, each with its own distinctive focus offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional and world issues. The Davis Enterprise is among a selection of California papers. Access World News also includes a selection of Spanish language newspapers from the United States and other countries. Date coverage varies with individual newspaper.

Direct link to Davis Enterprise, 1997-on
Check Library Search for earlier coverage.

General and business news and information from more than 9,000 sources in 22 languages, including influential local, national and international newspapers, leading business magazines, trade publications, and news wires. Includes the exclusive combination of The Wall Street Journal (1979-present), the Financial Times, Dow Jones and Reuters newswires and the Associated Press, as well as Reuters Fundamentals, and Bureau van Dijk company profiles.
Text mining of this database is prohibited. Access limited to 49 simultaneous users.

Current full-text of the New York Times (including the New York Times Magazine and the New York Times Book Review).
[Coverage: 1980-present]

One of the largest web-based full-text databases for current news, business and legal information, supporting a broad range of interdisciplinary research, Nexis Uni (known until December 2017 as LexisNexis Academic) provides full-text access to nearly 6,000 individual titles. Includes a wide range of U.S. and foreign newspapers, plus transcripts of television and radio news programs. Business resources include business articles, accounting literature, company financial information. Legal resources include state and federal laws and regulations, a full range of case law, and law review articles.

For Search Help use the Nexis Uni LibGuide: it includes: video tutorials, searching federal and state cases, self-paced search instruction, how to find company info.

OCLC catalog of millions of records for books, journal titles and materials in other formats from approximately 12,000 libraries worldwide.
[Coverage: 1000 A.D.-present]

Der KVK ist eine Meta-Suchmaschine zum Nachweis von mehreren hundert Millionen Büchern, Zeitschriften und anderen Medien in Bibliotheks- und Buchhandelskatalogen weltweit. The Karlsruhe Virtual Catalog is a meta-search engine for locating hundreds of millions of books, periodicals, and other media in library and book trade catalogues throughout the world.

The online catalog of the Bibliothèque nationale de France.

A collective database of all books published in Europe between the invention of printing and the end of the sixteenth century (1450-1700).