Self-Directed Learning
This guide is intended to introduce medical students and faculty to recommended specialized information sources for self-directed learning that are available through the Blaisdell Medical Library on the UC Davis Health Campus.
About Self-Directed Learning
According to the LMCE (2024), self-directed learning includes a unified sequence of:
-
Self-assessment of learning needs
-
Independent identification, analysis, and synthesis of relevant information
-
Appraisal of the credibility of information sources
-
Feedback about these skills from faculty and/or staff
The primary pedagogy for self-directed learning in the pre-clerkship phase of the UC Davis School of Medicine's integrated I-EXPLORE curriculum is Team INQUIRE/Problem-Based Learning (PBL).
Reference: Liaison Committee on Medical Education (LCME). (2024, August). Functions and structure of a medical school, 2025-26. https://lcme.org/publications/
Recommended Information Sources
Recommended information sources include: peer-reviewed journal articles, medical textbooks, practice guidelines, and information posted on websites of trustworthy organizations. Here are a few selected examples.
Journal Articles
- PubMed for UC Davis This link opens in a new windowIndex to peer-reviewed journal literature from MEDLINE database, life science journals, and online books, covering biomedicine and health.
Custom PubMed for UC Davis link enables "Get it at UC" buttons to display in search results, providing immediate access to library-licensed full-text articles or enabling patrons to request articles that are not immediately available online. VPN required for off-campus access.
Tip: Look for a recent review article on your topic -- Narrow results by using "reviews" article type filter.
- Nature Reviews Disease PrimersA recommended journal with high quality detailed review articles including summary infographics,
Medical Textbooks
- AccessMedicine This link opens in a new windowRelevant to health sciences professions graduate students and practicing clinicians, over 150 online medical reference and core textbooks covering biomedical, clinical, and health systems science. Examples include: Harrison’s Principles of Internal Medicine, and Goodman & Gilman’s Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics. Also, point-of-care resources, study and test prep tools, audio-recordings and videos.
Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine, 21st Edition by
The Voice of Clinical ReasonHarrison's Principles of Internal Medicine is the world's most trusted clinical medicine text--and a superb resource for learning the art and science of clinical reasoning. Recognized by healthcare professionals worldwide as the leading authority on applied pathophysiology and clinical medicine, Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine provides the informational foundation you need for the best patient care possible. This new edition is fully updated with timely new chapters and essential updates across the spectrum of internal medicine. Written and edited by the world's top experts in their respective fields, this landmark guide provides comprehensive, accurate, and essential coverage of the pathogenesis, diagnosis, and treatment of disease. Harrison's is world-renowned as the most authoritative source for: * Clear, concise schemas that facilitate the generation of differential diagnoses to reason efficiently through complex real world clinical cases * The physiologic and epidemiologic basis of signs and symptoms, which are covered through a wealth of unsurpassed expert guidance and linked to the disease-specific chapters that follow * Updated clinical trial results and recommended guidelines * Excellent and extensive visual support, including radiographs, clinical photos, schematics, and high-quality drawings * Coverage of both therapeutic approaches and specific treatment regimens * Practical clinical decision trees and algorithms * Organ/system-specific sections, with clinically relevant pathophysiology and practical clinical advice on the approach to the patient, strategies towards building a differential diagnosis, outstanding clinical algorithms and diagnostic schema, a wealth of clinical images and diagrams, current clinical guidelines, and general and specific approaches to therapy Harrison's remains the most trusted resource in a world influenced by endless sources of medical information. The most timely and comprehensive updates from the world's top experts are featured in the 21st edition: * Current coverage of the diagnosis and treatment of diseases, from COVID to dementia to sepsis to multiple sclerosis to lung cancer * Updated content that reflects new approved therapeutics and new practice-changing guidelines and evidence summaries * More than 1000 clinical, pathological, and radiographic photographs, diagnostic and therapeutic decision trees, and clear schematics and diagrams describing pathophysiologic processes * Numerous atlases featuring curated collections of important visual aspects of diagnosis and management * Updated and time-saving curation and synthesis of established and new medical literature and studies * Clinically relevant coverage of disease mechanics and pathophysiology, and related therapeutic mechanisms
ISBN: 9781264268504Publication Date: 2022-03-28
Moore's Clinically Oriented Anatomy, 9th ed. by
Renowned for its comprehensive coverage and engaging, storytelling approach, the bestselling Moore''s Clinically Oriented Anatomy, 9th Edition, guides students from initial anatomy and foundational science courses through clinical training and practice. A popular resource for a variety of programs, this proven text serves as a complete reference, emphasizing anatomy that is important in physical diagnosis for primary care, interpretation of diagnostic imaging, and understanding the anatomical basis of emergency medicine and general surgery. The 9th Edition reflects the latest changes in the clinical application of anatomy as well as preparation for the USMLE while maintaining the highest standards for scientific and clinical accuracy. NEW! Sex and gender content clarifies important gender considerations and reflects an equitable focus on female as well as male anatomy. Updated medical imaging and integrated surface anatomy within each chapter clearly demonstrates the relationship between anatomy, physical examination, and diagnosis. Extensively revised Clinical Blue Boxes highlight the practical applications of anatomy, accompanied by helpful icons, illustrations, and images that distinguish the type of clinical information covered. Updated introduction establishes the foundational understanding of systemic information and basic concepts essential to success from the classroom to the dissection lab. Revised comprehensive surface anatomy photographs ensure accurate, effective physical examination diagnoses with integrated natural views of unobstructed surface anatomy and illustrations superimposing anatomical structures with landmarks for more accurate physical examination. Insightfully rendered, anatomically accurate illustrations, combined with many photographs and medical images, strengthen comprehension of anatomical concepts and retention of "mental images" of anatomical structures. Bottom Line boxes provide detailed summaries at a glance and underscore the "big-picture" perspective. Illustrated tables clarify complex information about muscles, veins, arteries, nerves, and other structures for easy study and review. Chapter outlines help students find key information quickly and efficiently. Additional online resources: Interactive clinical vignette multiple-choice questions and answers provide valuable self-test opportunities for exam review. Case studies engage students in the clinical application process of anatomic principles. Clinical Blue Box videos further explore selected clinical applications. Lippincott® Connect features: Full access to the digital version of the book with the ability to highlight and take notes on key passages for a more personal, efficient study experience. Carefully curated resources, such as interactive diagrams, audio and video tutorials, and self-assessment, all designed to facilitate further comprehension. Lippincott® Connect also allows users to create Study Collections to further personalize the study experience. With Study Collections you can: Pool content from books across your entire library into self-created Study Collections based on discipline, procedure, organ, concept or other topics. Display related text passages, video clips and self-assessment questions from each book (if available) for efficient absorption of material. Annotate and highlight key content for easy access later. Navigate seamlessly between book chapters, sections, self-assessments, notes and highlights in a single view/page.
ISBN: 9781975154066Publication Date: 2022
Health Systems Science, 2nd ed. by Call Number: Blaisdell Medical LibraryISBN: 9780323694629Publication Date: 2020
Practice Guidelines
For a detailed description of how to find practice guidelines, consult the Evidence-Based Practice Resources Guide
- UpToDate This link opens in a new windowUpToDate is a point-of-care clinical medicine database, providing recommendations across 25 specialties. Integrates drug information (Lexidrug) and clinical images (VisualDx).
Licensed by UCD Health, access is restricted to the UC Davis Health IP range, VPN or Single-Sign-On option. Log in using HS/Citrix credentials.
Tip: Search on your topic and then navigate to the society guidelines section in the left navigation bar
Websites of Trustworthy Organizations
This information can often be identified by using a targeted Google Search. However, it is up to you to determine the trustworthiness of the organization and the quality of the information posted.
- MedlinePlusMedlinePlus is an online health information resource for patients and their families and friends. It is a service of the National Library of Medicine (NLM), the world's largest medical library, which is part of the National Institutes of Health (NIH).
Tip: Search on your topic and then navigate to recommended links to trustworthy organizations
- Cystic Fibrosis Foundation: For Medical ProfessionalsIncludes information for healthcare providers about managing cystic fibrosis (e.g., practice guidelines, current research, and cystic fibrosis centers)