Social Science Databases
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowIndexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886 are included. In addition to the searchable cited references provided for more than 1,200 journals, Business Source Complete contains detailed author profiles for the 25,000 most-cited authors in the database. Market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses are also included.
[Coverage: coverage varies by title with some going as far back as 1886] - EconLit This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive, indexed bibliography with selected abstracts of the world's economic literature compiled from the American Economic Association's Journal of economic literature and the Index of economic articles in journals and collective volumes. Topics include economic theory and history, monetary theory and financial institutions; labor economics; international, regional, urban economics; and other related subjects.
[Coverage: 1969-present] - Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
EIU Country Profiles and Reports provide objective and timely analysis and forecasts of the political, economic and business environment in more than 180 countries. Annual profiles are updated by quarterly reports.
[Coverage: 1996-present] - HeinOnline This link opens in a new windowFull-text database of US legal periodicals. Includes the following sections: Law Journal Library (Comprised of Most-Cited Law Journals, Core U.S. Law Journals and International & Non-U.S. Law Journals); Federal Register Library (1936-1989); U.S. Supreme Court Library; and Treaties and Agreements Library, the Statutes at Large (1789-), U.S. Code (1924-)
[Coverage: Volume 1- Volume preceding current year] - Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new windowCitations to articles on the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: history and life.) Indexes more than 2000 journals worldwide.
[Coverage: 1967-present] - Homeland Security Digital Library (HSDL) This link opens in a new windowThe HSDL is a service of the Naval Postgraduate School Center for Homeland Defense and Security. The collection includes Over 92,600 documents related to homeland security policy, strategy, and organizational management from a wide variety of sources including federal, state and local governments; international governments and institutions; nonprofit organizations and private entities.
- International Relations and Security Network (ISN)ISN is an open source digital library of reports, studies, etc. from think tanks, research institutes and NGOs from around the globe. The ISN is hosted by ETH in Zurich.
- National Journal Group’s Policy CentralComprehensive resource on politics and policy for the academic community. Includes: National Journal (non-partisan weekly journal on politics), Almanac of American Politics, The Hotline (tracks American politics and campaigns with coverage of each day’s events), Ad spotlight (tracks televised political ads), CongressDaily (twice-daily insight on developments and key players in Congress), Markup reports (committee meetings on key bills), Technology Daily, Poll Track (database of over 5,000 public opinion surveys), Earlybird (the morning’s top news stories and editorials), and Daybook (schedules of House, Senate and other events).
[Coverage: National journal 1977-; other coverage varies by section.] - Social Science Citation IndexThe Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI) is a multidisciplinary database covering the journal literature of the social sciences. It is particularly suited to trace citations to authors and articles across publications. It indexes 1,700 journals spanning 50 disciplines, as well as covering individually selected, relevant items from over 3,300 of the world’s leading scientific and technical journals.
[Coverage: 1956-present]
- Social Sciences Research Network / Economic Research Network (SSRN/ERN) This link opens in a new windowA world wide collaborative of scholars devoted to the dissemination of social science research. It is composed of a number of specialized research networks in each of the social sciences.
- Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new windowSociological Abstracts, and its companion file Social Services Abstracts, cover the international literature of sociology, social work, and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. It provides abstracting and indexing of articles and book reviews drawn from thousands of serials publications, plus books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers, and working papers.
[Coverage: 1952-present] - Dave Leip’s Atlas of U.S. Presidential Elections This link opens in a new windowU.S. election data for House of Representatives and Voter Turn Out, by age and registration, in spreadsheet format displaying state and county-level data available for from 1992-2020. All data compiled from official sources.
[Coverage: 1992-present]
- Voting and Elections CollectionA database of elections data, authoritative analyses, concise explanations, and historical materials to help researchers investigate and understand voting and elections in America from 1789-present.
[Coverage: 1789-]