Getting Started
This guide will help you find resources for completing your Just Coffee coursework and beyond. It features resources tied to different perspectives related to the study of coffee cultivation, production, and consumption you will examine during the course. Many of the resources presented here cover several of these perspectives and so will be helpful to you in more than one module. Think creatively about how to use them!
Sheena is happy to help if you have questions:
Key Resources
Books on Coffee:
- Coffee : a comprehensive guide
Describes coffee's history, global spread, cultivation, preparation, marketing, as well as the environmental and societal issues surrounding its production, in addition to the art and science of roasting, tasting, and making good coffee. - Coffee: production, quality and chemistry
This book covers coffee production, quality and chemistry from the plant to the cup.
Article Databases:
- CAB Abstracts (CAB) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts to the international agricultural literature, including veterinary medicine, human and animal nutrition, forestry, rural development, as well as other related topics such as tourism and human ecology. Covers over 11,000 journals & conference proceedings and selected books in agriculture. Produced by CAB (Commonwealth Agricultural Bureaux) International (CABI) with more than 11.6 million records as of 08/10/2016.
[Coverage: 1973-present] - Agricultural & Environmental Science Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database covers environmental science topics from disciplines such as atmospheric science, biology, biotechnology, ecology, engineering, and microbiology. It also covers agricultural research including agricultural economics, animal and veterinary sciences, aquaculture and fisheries, farming and farming systems, food and human nutrition, forestry, and plant sciences. It includes Environmental Impact Statements (EIS) and Digests and all the records from the National Agricultural Library's AGRICOLA database.
[Coverage: 1960-present]
