Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
- Dictionary of the History of IdeasThis is an older online version of of the Dictionary of the History of Ideas: Studies of Selected Pivotal Ideas (DHI), in five volumes and edited by Philip P. Wiener, was published by Charles Scribner’s Sons, New York, in 1973-74 (Shields Library CB5 .D52). This e-version is made available through the University of Virginia’s Electronic Text Center.
A Newer Edition is available on paper in the HSSGIS Reference Collection (2nd floor Shields) Call # CB9 .N49 2005
- Oxford Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
UC Davis licenses many but not all of the individual handbooks accessed through this site. Each Handbook has in-depth essays reviewing the current state of research in specific disciplines by the world's leading scholars. Search contents through one interface, individually or by modules. Titles are also individually cataloged in the library catalog. Each module groups multiple handbooks focused on aspects of that discipline.
Modules include: Archaeology; Business and Management; Classical Studies; Criminology and Criminal Justice; Economics and Finance; History; Law; Linguistics; Literature; Music; Neuroscience; Philosophy; Physical Sciences; Political Science; Psychology; Religion; Sociology.
- Stanford Encyclopedia of PhilosophyDesigned as a dynamic reference work, this continuously updated encyclopedia features entries maintained and updated by an expert or group of experts in the field. All entries and updates are refereed by the members of an Editorial Board before they are made public. For citation, fixed editions are made on a quarterly basis and stored archivally.
Note: Open (unrestricted public) access to the Encyclopedia has been made possible, in part, with a financial contribution from the University of California Libraries.