Getting Started
Research Help
- Librarian Instructors for NUT 117
- For Database Searching questions, contact Ruth Gustafson @ ragustafson@ucdavis.edu OR Book an APPOINTMENT with Ruth
- For Lean Library Workspace (LLW) questions, contact Melinda Livas @ mmlivas@ucdavis.edu OR Book an APPOINTMENT with Melinda
Please fill out our Library Survey !
Nutritional Topic Ideas and Search Terms
Useful sources for finding recent research in all sciences, where you might find interesting topics, are the weekly magazines Science News and New Scientist. In addition, the premier journals SCIENCE and NATURE include the latest innovative research across the sciences. Premier licensed nutrition journals include The American Journal of Clinical Nutrition , Annual Review of Nutrition, Clinical Nutrition, The Journal of Nutrition (JN), and Advances in Nutrition. Top open-access nutrition titles include BMC Nutrition.
Once you’ve picked your summary topic, you will need to think of search terms to use for locating articles and other publications. Use UC Library Search listed under Background below (for locating print or online books, and more) and use the Library of Congress Subject Headings (LCSH) and also (for books owned at the medical libraries) the National Library of Medicine (NLM) terms. Each library subject database also has subject lists/thesauri that can help you precisely search your topic, e.g PubMed has MeSH and BIOSIS Previews has Concept Codes and more.
Key Resources for class
Before diving into your searches, locating some background information on the topic can be very helpful in refining your question. Try these book and reference resources to better develop your personal knowledge on a topic.
See the books/ebooks section for suggestions of terms for UCD Library Catalog searching.
-
UC Davis Library Catalog: Advanced Search
Search UC Library Search for books, journals (not articles) and other materials available online or in the library. -
NUTRITIONnetBASEOver 500 books encompassing “Hundreds of case studies, clinical trials, and biochemical analyses expose the hottest research areas in nutrition. This collection features essential information on phytonutrients, the cancer–diet connection, oxidative stress, mitochondrial function, sports nutrition, and hormonal imbalances.”
-
CAB eBooks This link opens in a new windowCABI ebooks provides access to over 1,200 titles in the areas of: Agriculture, Forestry and Food; Veterinary and Animal Sciences; Environmental and Natural Sciences; Plant Sciences; Human Health; Biotechnology, Engineering, Mathematics, Statistics and Techniques; Natural, Medicinal and Industrial End-products; Economics and Social Sciences; and Tourism, Hospitality, and Travel. Note: This collection includes a majority of titles published by CAB, but not all titles. In particular, the publisher has chosen not to include textbooks in this package.
[Coverage: 2000-present]
-
Brill | Wageningen Academic eBooksUC Davis has current years of eBooks licensed from this large university publisher of agriculture-related books. “Wageningen Academic Publishers is an independent STM publisher operating worldwide in the field of Life Sciences. Located at the heart of one of the world’s most famous food & agriculture research centres, we focus on topics in Animal and Veterinary, Food and Health, Agribusiness and Rural Studies, Agriculture and Environment. We currently publish ... around 30 new books per year.” Exclusions: textbooks
After doing some background research, dive into your summary topic with these core databases (see databases section for a wider selection of databases).
-
PubMed for UC Davis This link opens in a new windowPubMed for UC Davis offers users vastly more full-text articles than does the public version of Pubmed.gov. Search results in the UCD version display "Get it at UC" buttons providing (with on-campus or VPN connection) access to articles in journals licensed by UC Davis or enabling patrons to request articles that are not immediately available online. PubMed comprises over 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. PubMed citations and abstracts include the fields of biomedicine and health, covering portions of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering. PubMed also provides access to additional relevant web sites and links to the other NCBI molecular biology resources. PubMed is a free resource that is developed and maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM), located at the National Institutes of Health (NIH).
[Coverage: 1902-present]
What to do if PubMed is inaccessible?
The following are UC Davis Library database backups if PubMed (U.S. Government database produced by NLM – National Library of Medicine which is an Institute of the NIH – National Institutes of Health) becomes inaccessible. Note that MEDLINE is the core from which the PUBlic version of MEDLINE (PubMed) is produced. These MEDLINE database backups are listed in order of ease of use. For all databases below make sure the Library VPN Ivanti is CONNECTed if off campus.
* MEDLINE – available through the Web of Science search platform
* Ovid MEDLINE – available via the Ovid search platform
* Embase – incorporates MEDLINE into this European medical database
-
BIOSIS Previews This link opens in a new windowBIOSIS Previews is a database for researching the biological sciences literature. Designed by biologists for keeping up with the literature across pure and applied life sciences including agriculture and medicine. Excellent features for searching by taxonomic categories and broad concept codes (subject categories). More than 27 million records in all life science areas, including agriculture, biochemistry, biomedicine, biotechnology, ecology, environmental biology, genetics, microbiology, plant biology, veterinary medicine & pharmacology, and zoology. Indexes over 6,000 journals, serials, books and book chapters, conference proceedings and patents.
[Coverage: 1926-present] -
CAB Abstracts (Ovid) This link opens in a new windowProvides citations and abstracts to the international agricultural literature, including veterinary medicine, human and animal nutrition, forestry, rural development, as well as other related topics such as tourism and human ecology. Covers over 11,000 journals and conference proceedings and selected books in agriculture. Produced by CAB (Commonwealth Agricultural Bureaux) International (CABI) with more than 10 million records. HISTORICAL SCOPE: Archive abstracts added in August 2005 go back to 1910 with 1,860,000 additional records. CAB DATABASE PDFs: As of January 2009, hard-to-find literature may be available as CAB Database PDFs (so noted below the UC-eLinks button). These CABI Full Text items give users automatic access to over 350,000 journal articles, conference papers and reports 80 percent of which are not available electronically anywhere else. NOTE: the default UCD Search Type is set to Advanced Ovid Search.
[Coverage: 1910-present]