Native American Studies

Citations to books, journal articles, essays, conference papers, and US and Canadian government documents about native peoples of North America published from the sixteenth century to the present.
[Coverage: 16th century to current]

The Biodiversity Heritage Library (BHL) is a consortium of natural history and botanical libraries worldwide that cooperate to digitize and make accessible the legacy literature of biodiversity held in their collections and to make that literature available for open access and responsible use as a part of a global biodiversity commons. BHL also serves as the foundational literature component of the Encyclopedia of Life (EOL) with access provided to texts with information on over 150 million species names.

Citations and abstracts to the international agricultural literature, including veterinary medicine, human and animal nutrition, forestry, rural development, as well as other related topics such as tourism and human ecology. Covers over 11,000 journals & conference proceedings and selected books in agriculture. Produced by CAB (Commonwealth Agricultural Bureaux) International (CABI) with more than 11.6 million records as of 08/10/2016.
[Coverage: 1973-present]

A catalog and online archive of the indigenous languages of California, western North America, and the Americas

Provides researchers rich archival content, visual ephemera, monographs, and videos that explore how food shapes the world around us.   Incorporates more than 250 videos and more than 7,000 books and documents. Featured collections include: Food Movements, Organic Farming and GMOs, Food Systems, Food and the Environment, and Diet Trends. Also includes: Small Farms Interview collection, archival photographs, and over 23,000 menus available online through the New York Public Library and Los Angeles Public Library websites.
[Coverage: 1940s -1960s]

"The Indian Claims Commission was created by the Act of August 13, 1946 (605 Stat. 1060, 25 USC 70a et seq.) to hear claims of 'any Indian tribe, band, or other identifiable group of American Indians' against the United States. The Act provides broad grounds for recovery, including claims based on 'unconscionable consideration' for tribal lands which were taken and 'claims based on fair and honorable dealing not recognized by any existing rule of law or equity.'" (From the Index to Indian Claims Commission Decisions.)

Provides bibliographic information and abstracts of health-related articles, reports, surveys, and other resource documents pertaining to the health and health care of American Indians, Alaska Natives, and Canadian First Nations.
[1966 – present]

OATD.org aims to be the best possible resource for finding open access graduate theses and dissertations published around the world. Metadata (information about the theses) comes from over 1000 colleges, universities, and research institutions. OATD currently indexes 2,311,795 theses and dissertations.

Full-text access to dissertations published after 1977, and citations and abstracts for earlier dissertations and theses.  The official offsite dissertations repository for the U.S. Library of Congress.  Contains every title in the UMI Dissertation Abstracts database. Access to works by UC campus authors is free for UC affiliates.
[Coverage: 1861-present]

The Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) is an open access collection of more than 29 million images, texts, videos, and sounds from across the United States. All of the materials found through DPLA are free and immediately available in digital format.

On-demand streaming video service, works directly with filmmakers and film distribution companies, offers thousands of award-winning documentaries, training films and theatrical releases. Covers diverse subjects and disciplines. Collections include titles from the DEFA Film Library, ArtMattan Films, HBO, Frameline, Ruscico, Pragda, BBC, Flicker Alley, National Film Board of Canada, First Run Features, Cinema Libre Studio, New Day Films, and the Criterion Collection/Janus Films.
[Coverage: 2000-present]

Documentaries from leading film producers and distributors, including Bullfrog Films, Icarus Films, the BBC, the National Film Board of Canada, CBC, Television Trust for the Environment, MediaStorm, Terra Nova Films, KimStim, and Scorpion TV, and other independent filmmakers from around the world. Full collection of 2400 titles is anticipated to be completed in 2023.

This database has a focus on curating award-winning titles from contemporary ethnographic film festivals. Volume IV contains the full catalog of anthropology films from Berkeley Media, formerly known as the University of California’s Extension Center for Media.

"Alaska's Digital Archives presents a wealth of historical photographs, albums, oral histories, moving images, maps, documents, physical objects, and other materials from libraries, museums and archives throughout our state."

The Center for Research Libraries (CRL) is an international consortium of university, college, and independent research libraries. Founded in 1949, CRL supports original research and inspired teaching in the humanities, sciences, and social sciences by preserving and making available to scholars a wealth of rare and uncommon primary source materials from all world regions. CRL’s deep and diverse collections (http://www.crl.edu/collections) are built by specialists and experts at the major U.S. and Canadian research universities, who work together to identify and preserve unique and uncommon documentation and evidence, and to ensure its long-term integrity and accessibility to researchers in the CRL community.

Calisphere is the University of California's free public gateway to a world of primary sources. It includes over 2 million digitized items -- including photographs, documents, newspaper pages, political cartoons, works of art, diaries, transcribed oral histories, advertising, and other unique cultural artifacts -- that reveal the diverse history and culture of California and its role in national and world history. Calisphere's content has been selected from the libraries and museums of the UC campuses, and from a variety of cultural heritage organizations.

A full-text collection of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press in the United States.
[Coverage: 1960-present]

Alternative press and political newspapers, magazines and journals from the latter half of the 20th century, including, feminist, dissident, campus radical, Native American, anti-war activist, Black Power, Hispanic, LGBT activist, the extreme right-wing publications. Searchable full-text access includes nearly 1,000 magazines, newsletters, newspapers, as well as image, audio and other archival material.  These materials were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century. Independent Voices is one of several thematic Reveal Digital primary source projects. Content is sourced from special collections that come from a wide array of libraries, museums, historical societies, and individual collectors.
[Coverage: 1950s-1980s]

A digital archive of national, local and student newspapers published in the US and Canada by Indigenous peoples between 1828-2016 including: British Columbia, Alaska, Arizona, California, Nevada and Oklahoma.
[Coverage: 1828-2016]

Searchable database of citations and digitized images of the pages of more than 1100 American magazines and journals published from colonial days to the dawn of the 20th century.
[Coverage: 1741-1940s]

This newspaper is among a group of resources that are licensed on an annual basis. Some of them will become a permanent part of the UC Davis library collections based on interest and use. Includes: San Francisco Examiner (1865-2007); The Californian (2001-2012) Salinas; Tulare Advance-Register (2001-2007); Visalia Times-Delta (2001-2014).