Middle Eastern / South Asian Studies

The Index Islamicus database indexes literature on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world. Material cited in the Index Islamicus includes not only work written about the Middle East, but also about the other main Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, plus Muslim minorities elsewhere. Over 3,000 journals are monitored for inclusion in the database, together with conference proceedings, monographs, multi-authored works and book reviews. Journals and books are indexed down to the article and chapter level.
[Coverage: 1906-current]

Database of indexes to Ottoman Studies, including full-text articles.  Interface is in Turkish.

AfricaBib is a collection of Africana social science titles, presented in one easily accessible location on the internet. It is the culmination of over forty years of Africana research. The site consists of two bibliographic databases covering Africana periodical literature (Africana Periodical Literature) and African Women’s literature (African Women). You will also find a comprehensive bibliography on women travelers and explorers to Africa (Women Travelers, Explorers and Missionaries to Africa). In June 2012 two other bibliographies have been added, on Islam in Contemporary Sub-Saharan Africa compiled by Paul Schrijver, and on Kenya Coast compiled by Jan Hoorweg.

Citations to articles on the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: history and life.) Indexes more than 2000 journals worldwide.
[Coverage: 1967-present]

The Modern Language Association International Bibliography (MLAIB) covers international scholarly materials on all languages, literatures, linguistics, and folklore from around the world. It includes citations to items from journals, series, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies. MLAIB does not index book reviews.
[Coverage: 1926-present]

The Philosopher's Index is a comprehensive, bibliographic database covering worldwide research in all areas of philosophy. It is created by philosophers for philosophers. The Philosopher's Index features: the inclusion of documents from philosophy and interdisciplinary publications, extensive indexing, and author-written abstracts. Philosophers prescreen potential source documents for relevance to the field of philosophy; this enables the inclusion of articles from interdisciplinary journals and contributions from interdisciplinary anthologies that pertain to philosophy. The indexing includes the assignment of subject headings that encompass proper names and subject terms using a standardized thesaurus. The indexing improves the quality of search results and the use of the standardized thesaurus provides consistency across records from the various publications. The abstracts help the user more quickly ascertain the relevance of the documents. The database provides global coverage, with source publications from more than 135 countries, and has records from 1940 to present, with additional records dating back to 1902. It includes more than 530,000 records in 37 languages. Sources includes: journals (print and e-journal articles from more than 1600 philosophy and interdisciplinary journals); books/monographs, including encyclopedias, dictionaries and book series; anthologies; contributions to anthologies from philosophy and interdisciplinary anthologies; and book reviews.
[Coverage: 1940-present]

Sociological Abstracts, and its companion file Social Services Abstracts, cover the international literature of sociology, social work, and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. It provides abstracting and indexing of articles and book reviews drawn from thousands of serials publications, plus books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers, and working papers.
[Coverage: 1952-present]

Online scholarly encyclopedias and other reference works published by Brill. UCD subscribed (or open access) titles are indicated by green unlock icon. These are: Brill's Encyclopedia of Jainism Online; Brill's Encyclopedia of Jainism Online; New Pauly Online (25 titles); Encyclopedia of Early Modern History Online (English and German editions); The SHAFR Guide Online; Catalog of Catalogs Online, A Bibliography of Temporary Exhibition Catalogs Since 1876 that Contain Items of Judaica; Encyclopedia of Public International Law in Asia Online
Foreign Law Guide; Encyclopaedia Iranica Online; Encyclopaedia of Islam (7 titles); Qurʾānic Studies Online (6 titles); Storey Online; Religion in Geschichte und Gegenwart; Religion Past and Present

OCLC catalog of millions of records for books, journal titles and materials in other formats from approximately 12,000 libraries worldwide.
[Coverage: 1000 A.D.-present]

"This catalogue provides a searchable interface to basic manuscript descriptions from some of the major manuscript collections in the UK. With the continuing contribution of manuscript records from UK libraries, Fihrist aims to become a union catalogue for manuscripts in Arabic script."

Der KVK ist eine Meta-Suchmaschine zum Nachweis von mehreren hundert Millionen Büchern, Zeitschriften und anderen Medien in Bibliotheks- und Buchhandelskatalogen weltweit. The Karlsruhe Virtual Catalog is a meta-search engine for locating hundreds of millions of books, periodicals, and other media in library and book trade catalogues throughout the world.

Library Hub Discover contains nearly 50 million bibliographic records contributed by nearly 200 institutions in the United Kingdom and Ireland.

Founded in 1875, Al-Ahram (الأهرام‎, “The Pyramids”) is one of the most prominent Arabic newspapers in the Middle East, including its legacy as Egypt’s most authoritative and influential national daily, with a circulation of over 1 million. The newspaper established itself as a high-quality journalistic venture during the mid-20th century.
[1876-2019, with annual updates]