Linguistics

This database abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences and covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Subject coverage includes: Anthropological linguistics, Applied linguistics, Descriptive linguistics, Discourse analysis, Language - pathological and normal, Learning disabilities, Nonverbal communication, Phonetics, Phonology and
Psycholinguistics. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,500 serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, and dissertations.
[Coverage: 1973-present]

APA PsycInfo is published by the American Psychological Associations and provides comprehensive indexing and abstracts of the international psychological literature from the 1800s to the present. Documents indexed include journals, articles, books, dissertations and more. 90% of the 3,000+ titles indexed in APA PsycInfo are peer-reviewed.
[Coverage: 1840-present]

Sociological Abstracts, and its companion file Social Services Abstracts, cover the international literature of sociology, social work, and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. It provides abstracting and indexing of articles and book reviews drawn from thousands of serials publications, plus books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers, and working papers.
[Coverage: 1952-present]

ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) is a database of education research and information sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education and available on the ProQuest platform. ERIC includes citations for journal articles, books, research papers, conference papers, technical reports, policy papers, dissertations, theses, and other materials in the field of education. A majority of the journals are peer reviewed. Documents indexed in ERIC are produced by scholarly organizations, professional associations, research centers, policy organizations, university presses, the U.S. Department of Education and other federal agencies, state agencies, and local agencies. Also, individual contributors submit conference papers, research papers, dissertations, and theses.
[Coverage: 1966-present]

Education Source covers all levels of education from early childhood to higher education and also includes educational specialties such as multilingual education, health education and testing. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 2,850 academic periodicals and includes full text for more than 1,800 journals, 550 books and monographs, education-related conference papers, citations for over 4 million articles including book reviews and over 100,000 controlled and cross-referenced names of educational tests. Education Source is designed to meet the needs of education students, professionals and policy makers.

Anthropology Plus brings together into one resource the highly respected Anthropological Literature from Harvard University and Anthropological Index, Royal Anthropological Institute from the UK.
[Coverage: Late 19th century-present]

Abstracts major journals in communication; mass media; and includes topics in interpersonal communication and relations; economics and communication; communication, culture, and society; education and communication and health communication.
[Coverage: 1978-present]

MIT CogNet is a resource for research in cognitive science, philosophy, neuroscience, linguistics, and psychology.

"The OED is an historical dictionary of English, covering the language from the earliest times to the present day. Entries contain detailed etymological analysis, illustrated by quotations from a wide range of sources."

BASE is one of the world's most voluminous search engines especially for academic open access web resources. BASE is operated by Bielefeld University Library.

The Modern Language Association International Bibliography (MLAIB) covers international scholarly materials on all languages, literatures, linguistics, and folklore from around the world. It includes citations to items from journals, series, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies. MLAIB does not index book reviews.
[Coverage: 1926-present]

This is the major bibliographic index for Classical studies, including art, history, philosophy, literature and more. Use the hard copy edition of the Annee Philologique to search for material published before 1949. It is located at Shields Library Humanities/Social Sciences Reference Z7016.A1 A5
[Coverage: 1949-current]

Redalyc serves as a portal to more than 15,000 full text articles published in over 700 journals that come from 15 countries in Latin America, the Caribbean, Spain and Portugal. New titles and older content are added monthly. Subject coverage includes topics in the social sciences, arts and humanities, and the natural sciences. Redalyc can be searched by keyword, subject, author, country of publication or journal title. Articles are primarily in Spanish. Redalyc adheres to an Open Access policy and its material is released under a Creative Commons license, with free downloads of the PDF files.

This database is the combined archive  of two bibliographic indexes, Pascal and Francis. They provide multidisciplinary and multilingual coverage of humanities and social sciences. Source documents include journal articles, books, conference proceedings, dissertations, and reports.  It was produced and is now hosted as an open access resource by the Institut de l'Information Scientifique et Technique of the Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique.
[Coverage: 1972-2015]