Law

Congressional Quarterly (CQ) Press provides an integrated search environment for obtaining analysis on Congressional issues in the news and coverage of the status of bills, votes and amendments, floor and committee activity, and backroom maneuvering. This database searches the full-text of CQ Weekly, CQ Researcher, CQ Historic Documents, contact directories, a variety of reference books, and selected datasets focused on issues in U.S. politics and areas of public policy, such as, health care, education, economics, bioethics, environment, and society. Contents are created by more than 125 Capitol Hill reporters, editors, and researchers to provide non-partisan coverage and detailed analysis of issues facing Congress.

Full-text database of US legal periodicals. Includes the following sections: Law Journal Library (Comprised of Most-Cited Law Journals, Core U.S. Law Journals and International & Non-U.S. Law Journals); Federal Register Library (1936-1989); U.S. Supreme Court Library; and Treaties and Agreements Library, the Statutes at Large (1789-), U.S. Code (1924-)
[Coverage: Volume 1- Volume preceding current year]

The Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals (IFLP) is a multilingual index to articles and book reviews appearing in over 500 legal journals published worldwide. It provides in-depth coverage of public and private international law, comparative and foreign law, and the law of all jurisdictions other than the United States, the U.K., Canada, and Australia.
[Coverage: 1960-present]

Provides access to citations from major legal publications and many full text articles in PDF format. LegalTrac is updated daily with coverage starting from 1980. For articles published before 1980, use Index to Legal Periodicals Retrospective which covers the period 1908-1981

One of the largest web-based full-text databases for current news, business and legal information, supporting a broad range of interdisciplinary research, Nexis Uni (known until December 2017 as LexisNexis Academic) provides full-text access to nearly 6,000 individual titles. Includes a wide range of U.S. and foreign newspapers, plus transcripts of television and radio news programs. Business resources include business articles, accounting literature, company financial information. Legal resources include state and federal laws and regulations, a full range of case law, and law review articles.

The Government Printing Office provides free online access to official U.S. Federal government documents and information. GPO is the recognized authoritative source for government information and has authenticated the documents on govinfo. Search for official versions of government documents and publications, browse by title, collection, congressional committee, date, and download publications.

The Making of Modern Law: U.S. Supreme Court Records and Briefs, 1832-1978 contains the world’s most comprehensive online collection of records and briefs brought before the nation’s highest court by leading legal practitioners, many who later became judges and associates of the court. It includes transcripts, applications for review, motions, petitions, supplements, and other official papers of the most-studied and talked-about cases, including many that resulted in landmark decisions. This collection serves the needs of students and researchers in American legal history, politics, society, and government, as well as practicing attorneys.

Provides detailed indexing from 1789 forwards for publications of Congress: documents, reports, hearings. Modules include: Proquest Congressional digital U.S. Congressional hearings collection from 1824-1979; and Digital U.S. Bills and Resolutions from 1789-present. Full text for congressional committee documents and reports is included from 1990 to current. Selected hearing testimony and transcripts are available from 1988. Congressional Research Service Reports module included from 2004-2010. For full text historical serial set (committee documents & reports) from 1817-1980 see U.S. Congressional Serial Set by Readex. Formerly titled LexisNexis Congressional.
[Coverage: dates vary]

Full text Congressional committee reports and documents originally published in the Serial Set from the 15th through the 96th Congresses, 1817-1980. Also includes the American State Papers (a retrospective collection of materials originating from 1789 through 1838 but published in the second quarter of the 19th century). The U.S. Congressional Serial Set is the bound, sequentially numbered set of volumes of all the Reports, Documents and Journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives. Many early agency reports were published originally in congressional editions. The Serial Set constitutes an incomparably rich collection of primary source material on all aspects of American history and government.
[Coverage: 1817-1980, with American State Papers 1789-1838]