Research Guides: Individual and Group Dynamics Fall 2023 MGT 401A-1 and MGB 401AY-: Getting Started

About this course guide

This guide is designed to accompany INDIVIDUAL AND GROUP DYNAMICS MGT 401A-1 and MGB 401AY-1 as taught by Professor Bechky in the UC Davis Graduate School of Management in the Fall 2023.

Getting Started in The Library
This page gives a general orientation to search the Library catalog: UC Search, and well as tips for finding articles and journals.
Library Research Guide for Business Marketing and Management
This guide provides organizes Library resources available to those researching Business.

Databases for Business and Management

These tools below track and provide access to business periodicals

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886 are included. In addition to the searchable cited references provided for more than 1,200 journals, Business Source Complete contains detailed author profiles for the 25,000 most-cited authors in the database. Market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses are also included.
[Coverage: coverage varies by title with some going as far back as 1886]
Factiva This link opens in a new window
General and business news and information from more than 9,000 sources in 22 languages, including influential local, national and international newspapers, leading business magazines, trade publications, and news wires. Includes the exclusive combination of The Wall Street Journal (1979-present), the Financial Times, Dow Jones and Reuters newswires and the Associated Press, as well as Reuters Fundamentals, and Bureau van Dijk company profiles. Text mining of this database is prohibited. Access limited to 49 simultaneous users.
Business Expert Press This link opens in a new window
Business Expert Press's Digital Libraries are filled with practical, concise books covering specific areas of business, including supply and operations management, international business, social media, finance, accounting, public relations, and marketing strategy. They're written by international authorities, specifically for students seeking bachelors or masters degrees.
Gale Business: Insights (Formerly Business Insights: Global) This link opens in a new window
Detailed company and industry profiles including SWOT reports, market share reports, and financial reports. Thousands of company histories and industry essays from Gale's core business collection. Case studies, scholarly journals, and business news for deep research coverage of global economies.
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
Regional business journals, newspapers and newswires covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States. More than 75 titles include Arizona Business, Business North Carolina, Crain's New York Business (and other Crain Communications editions), Des Moines Business Record, Enterprise Salt Lake City, Fort Worth Business Press, Orange County Business Journal, Westchester County Business Journal, etc.
Nexis Uni (Formerly LexisNexis) This link opens in a new window
Alongside general news and resources for law research Nexis Uni contains Business resources including business articles, accounting literature, company financial information.

Journals specializing in Management Reviews

Here are a few journals that publish Management reviews. These can be used to see how Management and Organizational theory is applied to different business situations and managerial problems.

California Management Review
California Management Review serves as a bridge of communication between those who study management and those who practice it. The journal is committed to advancing the study of management broadly, focusing on business organizations, social enterprises, hybrid organizations, and non-profit organizations.
Harvard Business Review
Presents analysis of management problems and helpful commentary on advanced thinking and practice in all fields of management and administration.
Academy of Management Review
This journal, from the Academy of Management, provides reviews, syntheses, applications and critiques focused on organizational and management theory.
European Management Review (EMR)
EMR is a general management journal. It is concerned with general questions regarding the governance, organization, and behaviour of entities, and of their relationship with participants, counterparts, competitors, and contexts.EMR values rigorous, analytic, intersubjectively testable research.
MIT Sloan Management Review
Refereed articles, commentary and reviews by management academics, consultants and practitioners on what's most useful in current management theory and practice and cross-functional perspectives on management issues written for professional managers.
International Business Review
The International Business Review (IBR) is a premier international journal in the discipline of international business, The journal publishes conceptual papers, empirical papers and review articles, as well as articles about strategy, finance, management, marketing, economics, and organizational scholars.

Some Handbooks, and Encyclopedia on Business Management

Use this list of resources to learn more about applied management and business theory and concepts.

Oxford Encyclopedia of Business and Management
The Oxford Research Encyclopedia (ORE) of Business and Management publishes peer-reviewed online articles that present thinking on essential business and management topics.
Oxford Handbook of Critical Management Studies
Critical Management Studies (CMS) has emerged as a movement that questions the authority and relevance of much mainstream thinking and practice. Critical of established practices and institutional arrangements, it challenges many orthodoxies in management and organization studies. This handbook maps the terrain of CMS today.
Oxford Handbook of Management
Offers a comprehensive, critical overview of aspects of the field of Management, as well as a discussion of key debates and research, and a review of the emerging agenda.
Palgrave Encyclopedia of Strategic Management
Provides a comprehensive overview of the field, including survey of the field's history, schools, applications, biographies of key individuals and the role of practitioners in its advancement.

Individual and Group Dynamics Fall 2023 MGT 401A-1 and MGB 401AY-

About this course guide

Databases for Business and Management

Journals specializing in Management Reviews

Some Handbooks, and Encyclopedia on Business Management

Research Support

Research Support