Getting Started
Resources listed here are in English or other Western languages. For resources in Chinese, Japanese or Korean, use the East Asian Studies, Languages and Cultures Guide.
Trial/Temporary Access Resource
- Ainosco Search 是科探索 This link opens in a new windowA search platform, combining the academic resources of both Taiwan and mainland China, features full-text searchable content covering academic journal articles, doctoral dissertations, and conference paper compilations, to provide high-quality and convenient Chinese knowledge service.
Key Bibliographic Indexes
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new windowCitations to articles on the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: history and life.) Indexes more than 2000 journals worldwide.
[Coverage: 1967-present] - Bibliography of Asian Studies This link opens in a new windowThe online version of the Bibliography of Asian Studies contains more than 800,000 records on all subjects (especially humanities and social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide beginning in 1971 to present.
[Coverage: 1971-present, depending upon the subfile] - Index Islamicus This link opens in a new windowThe Index Islamicus database indexes literature on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world. Material cited in the Index Islamicus includes not only work written about the Middle East, but also about the other main Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, plus Muslim minorities elsewhere. Over 3,000 journals are monitored for inclusion in the database, together with conference proceedings, monographs, multi-authored works and book reviews. Journals and books are indexed down to the article and chapter level.
[Coverage: 1906-current] - Oxford Bibliographies Online This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Includes critical bibliographies on the following subjects :
Chinese Studies
Buddhism
Hinduism
Islamic Studies
