Databases
This page offers recommended databases for health informatics topics. Given the nature of health informatics, relevant journal articles and conference literature may be found in health science, computer science, business, and multidisciplinary databases.
Tips for selecting and learning how to use the databases:
- Select "more" for additional information and links to tutorials
- Visit the Health Sciences Library Tutorials Guide
Health Science
- PubMed for UC Davis This link opens in a new windowFrom the US National Library of Medicine, the essential database for finding scholarly journal articles in biomedicine, including health informatics. Special UC Davis link helps you access full-text articles.
- CINAHL Complete: Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature This link opens in a new windowDatabase to nursing and allied health literature, including journal articles, evidence-based care sheets, and research instruments.
- Embase This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Biomedical and pharmacological literature database. Includes special search options, including PICO, disease, drug, PV Wizard (pharmacovigilance), device, and medical device search.
Computer Science
- IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Database of technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, electronics, and related disciplines from Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) journals, transactions, magazines, letters, conference proceedings, standards. - INSPEC This link opens in a new windowThe Engineering Village platform provides access to INSPEC and Ei Compendex, two engineering research databases.
Multidisciplinary
- Scopus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Large interdisciplinary database to academic journal literature, conference proceedings and books with broad coverage across the sciences and social sciences. Offers references and citation data for mapping and impact. - Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new windowDatabase of top-cited peer-reviewed content in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities. Includes journals, conference proceedings, and books. Offers journal impact metrics and citation mapping.
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses A&I This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracts for dissertations and theses. Access to works by UC campus authors is free for UC affiliates.
Business
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowUseful for finding peer-reviewed literature about the hospital and healthcare administration perspective.
- Factiva This link opens in a new windowGeneral and business local, national, and international news source. Also offers white papers, business magazines, trade publications, and company profiles, including Wall Street Journal.
- Gartner Research ServiceGartner focuses on in-depth strategic analysis of information technology trends, vendors, products, and technologies. NOTE: Members of the UC Davis community can login using their CAS username and password.
- Statista This link opens in a new windowA statistics portal that provides access to current data/statistics on many different topics related to health, business, and technology.