Research Guides: HDE 111: Family Stress and Resilience: Background Sources

Background Sources

In addition to your HDE course materials, ebooks/books and general audience articles from newspapers and magazines can help you refine your research question and find helpful background information.

To Search for Ebooks/Books: Advanced Search: UC Davis Library Catalog

Example searches:

To Search for General Audience Articles:

Access World News (Formerly America's Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
Access World News provides full-text information and perspectives from hundreds of U.S. and international sources. Date coverage varies with individual newspaper.
CQ Press Library/Political Reference Suite This link opens in a new window
Search CQ Researcher to find journalistic reports on issues affecting families, such as education, employment, health, housing, family relationships and social issues.
MasterFILE Premier This link opens in a new window
Includes magazine articles on a variety of topics, as well as an image collection.
NYTimes.com This link opens in a new window
Unlimited access to NYTimes.com and NYT Mobile apps. Note: First time users must create a NYT account to gain access; accounts will need to be reactivated on an annual basis.
- Step 1: Visit AccessNYT.com while connected to the UC Davis network (including VPN)
- Step 2: Search for and click the listing for “University of California, Davis – Davis, CA.”
- Step 3: Click “Create Account” and complete the registration fields
Here’s what you’ll get through our campus subscription:
- Access to most New York Times and International New York Times content — including news, reviews, opinion, blogs, videos and more — with no monthly limit on the number of stories you can read
- Access content on the NYT mobile app (download it from https://help.nytimes.com/hc/en-us/sections/115003859548-Apps after creating your account)
- Email newsletters and custom alerts delivered to your inbox
- Access to nytimes.com/edu, the Times’ higher education website, including resources curated by area of study
- Historical coverage — full access to articles published from 1851 through 1922, and from 1981 to today (Note: The Times limits individual users to five articles per day from the years 1923-1980.)
- Select crosswords from the archives (the Crossword app is a separate product, but a few crosswords from the archives are available here)
U.S. Major Dailies This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Current full-text of the Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, New York Times (including the New York Times Magazine and the New York Times Book Review), Wall Street Journal and the Washington Post.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers

Evaluate Your Sources

Consider these criteria to determine if a source is reputable:

Author: Who produced the information? What can you find about the author's credentials?

Accuracy: Does the author cite references to support their thesis? If so, are the references also from scholarly, credible sources? How does this information compare to other sources you have found?

Timeframe: When was the source published? Is the information still relevant?

For more tips and guidelines:

Evaluating Resources CC-BY-NC: UC Berkeley Library
SIFT: The Four Moves CC-BY: Mike Caulfield, Washington State University Vancouver
Evaluating Digital Sources Purdue University Online Writing Lab (OWL)