Research Articles
What is a peer-reviewed research article?
Academic or scholarly research articles are published in journals and undergo a process called peer review, which means they are vetted by experts prior to publication. These experts evaluate articles that are submitted to a journal, and make recommendations to the journal editors about whether or not an article should be published.
Academic articles include highly specialized content and they are written assuming readers are already familiar with the research area.
Search the databases below, available through the UC Davis Library, to find peer-reviewed research articles written by experts in your field:
-
APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new windowAPA PsycInfo includes citations to peer-reviewed articles and other sources in Psychology and related disciplines. Search this tool if your problem focuses on an issue connected to mental health.
-
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new windowSociological Abstracts includes citations to peer-reviewed articles and other sources in Sociology and related disciplines. It is a good database to start with to search for information about many social issues that impact families.
-
ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) This link opens in a new windowERIC includes citations to peer-reviewed articles and other sources in the field of Education. Search this tool if your problem focuses on an education-related issue.
-
PubMed for UC Davis This link opens in a new windowPubMed for UC Davis includes citations to peer-reviewed articles in Medicine and the Life Sciences. Search this database if your problem is related to health or healthcare.
-
Scopus This link opens in a new windowScopus is an interdisciplinary database that includes citations to peer-reviewed articles and other sources. Use this database if you want to search across a broad range of subject areas for information about your topic.
-
Subject GuidesThe Library's Subject Guides group databases and other resources by discipline. Browse the Subject Guides to find additional databases to search for information about your topic.