German Language and Literature

OCLC catalog of millions of records for books, journal titles and materials in other formats from approximately 12,000 libraries worldwide.
[Coverage: 1000 A.D.-present]

Der KVK ist eine Meta-Suchmaschine zum Nachweis von mehreren hundert Millionen Büchern, Zeitschriften und anderen Medien in Bibliotheks- und Buchhandelskatalogen weltweit. The Karlsruhe Virtual Catalog is a meta-search engine for locating hundreds of millions of books, periodicals, and other media in library and book trade catalogues throughout the world.

A repository of scanned books contributed from academic institutions across the United States, including UC campuses, and those digitized by Google and the Internet Archive. Books still in copyright are scanned and searchable, but the full text scans will not become available online until their copyright expires. Although there is significant overlap with Google books, this site has a much more effective and sophisticated search interface. For additional details, see the HathiTrust Help Page.

A collective database of all books published in Europe between the invention of printing and the end of the sixteenth century (1450-1700).

BASE is one of the world's most voluminous search engines especially for academic open access web resources. BASE is operated by Bielefeld University Library.

Founded in 2005 by four Belgian and French academic publishers, Cairn.info offers the most comprehensive online collection of francophone publications in social sciences and humanities. In 2019, more than 500 journals and 10 000 eBooks from major French, Belgian and Swiss publishers can be accessed by students, scholars and librarians worldwide on www.cairn.info.

Full-text biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline. Combines core literary resources such as Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism Select, and the Dictionary of Literary Biography.

Provides the most comprehensive, current bibliography of international scholarly literature in Medieval Studies available.
[Coverage: 1967-present; updated quarterly]

This is the major bibliographic index for Classical studies, including art, history, philosophy, literature and more. Use the hard copy edition of the Annee Philologique to search for material published before 1949. It is located at Shields Library Humanities/Social Sciences Reference Z7016.A1 A5
[Coverage: 1949-current]

The Modern Language Association International Bibliography (MLAIB) covers international scholarly materials on all languages, literatures, linguistics, and folklore from around the world. It includes citations to items from journals, series, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies. MLAIB does not index book reviews.
[Coverage: 1926-present]

The Philosopher's Index is a comprehensive, bibliographic database covering worldwide research in all areas of philosophy. It is created by philosophers for philosophers. The Philosopher's Index features: the inclusion of documents from philosophy and interdisciplinary publications, extensive indexing, and author-written abstracts. Philosophers prescreen potential source documents for relevance to the field of philosophy; this enables the inclusion of articles from interdisciplinary journals and contributions from interdisciplinary anthologies that pertain to philosophy. The indexing includes the assignment of subject headings that encompass proper names and subject terms using a standardized thesaurus. The indexing improves the quality of search results and the use of the standardized thesaurus provides consistency across records from the various publications. The abstracts help the user more quickly ascertain the relevance of the documents. The database provides global coverage, with source publications from more than 135 countries, and has records from 1940 to present, with additional records dating back to 1902. It includes more than 530,000 records in 37 languages. Sources includes: journals (print and e-journal articles from more than 1600 philosophy and interdisciplinary journals); books/monographs, including encyclopedias, dictionaries and book series; anthologies; contributions to anthologies from philosophy and interdisciplinary anthologies; and book reviews.
[Coverage: 1940-present]

As a central national portal, the DDB (Deutsche Digitale Bibliothek = German Digital Library) is intended to network the digital offerings of all German cultural and scientific institutions.

Das Deutsche Textarchiv stellt einen disziplinen- und gattungsübergreifenden Grundbestand deutschsprachiger Texte mit einem Schwerpunkt ab dem frühen 16. bis zum frühen 20. Jahrhundert bereit. Hauptziel des von der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG) von 2007 bis 2016 geförderten Projekts war die Erstellung des sog. DTA-Kernkorpus. Dieses DTA-Kernkorpus umfasst etwa 1500 Titel aus dem Zeitraum von ca. 1600 bis 1900, die aufgrund ihrer herausragenden Bedeutung für die Entwicklung der deutschen Sprache bzw. der jeweiligen Genres und wissenschaftlichen Disziplinen ausgewählt wurden (weitere Informationen zur Textauswahl). Unter anderem aufgrund des sprachgeschichtlichen Fokus des DTA und um den historischen Sprachstand möglichst genau abzubilden, wurden dabei als Vorlage für die Digitalisierung in der Regel die historischen Erstausgaben ausgewählt (Auswahl der Exemplare für die Digitalisierung). Über das DTA-Kernkorpus hinaus integriert das DTA eine Vielzahl weiterer Texte aus dem Zeitraum etwa von der Mitte des 15. bis etwa zur Mitte des 20. Jahrhunderts als DTA-Erweiterungen (DTAE), die aus kooperierenden Projekten und weiteren externen Quellen stammen. Das elektronische Volltextkorpus des DTA ist über das Internet frei zugänglich und dank seiner Aufbereitung durch (computer-)linguistische Methoden schreibweisentolerant über den gesamten jeweils verfügbaren Bestand durchsuchbar. Sämtliche Texte stehen zum Download zur Verfügung.

The Bibliothek deutscher Klassiker is regarded throughout the world as the premier collection of German writing. The Bibliothek deutscher Klassiker series has been in publication since 1981. It covers the works of major authors spanning eleven centuries and includes historical, philosophical, theological, political and art history texts. Collections of essays, speeches and other non-literary material add context and background material. As every individual text is edited to the same high standard, you can rely on the quality and accuracy of each edition and the collection as a whole.

Archive of scholarly journals and ebooks in over 50 disciplines spanning the arts, humanities, social sciences and the sciences. For journals, coverage begins with volume one of each title and continues to within 3 to 5 years of the most current issue, with some up-to-date dependent on the title. JSTOR is a not-for-profit organization established with the assistance of the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation.

The German Literary Expressionism Online database contains 151 journals, yearbooks, collections and anthologies from the early 20th century in full text. Many of the most important literary figures of the 20th century made their first literary appearances in periodicals. They included Hugo Ball, Johannes R. Becher, Gottfried Benn, Georg Heym, Klabund, Else Lasker-Schüler, Georg Trakl, and Franz Werfel. Authors, philosophers, theologians, politicians, historians, art historians, psychologists, and many others not belonging to the central circle of expressionists, such as Martin Buber, Gerhart Hauptmann, Theodor Heuss, Hugo von Hofmannsthal, Gustav Landauer, Rainer Maria Rilke, and Arthur Schnitzler, also wrote for the new journals. Included in the database are journals with literary aspirations, such as "Der Sturm" and "Die Weissen Blätter," as well as journals with political objectives, such as "Die Aktion." The database serves as a source on German literature of the Modern era and can be used for the study of the history of art, theatre, film, dance and music between 1910 and 1930. Materials contained in the database are presented as online facsimiles, with a variety of search possibilities, including full text. A scholarly introduction and short bio-bibliographical articles on the 350 Expressionist authors represented complete the database.
[Coverage: early 20th century]

Critically-edited (Latin and premodern German language) primary sources for the study of German and central European history from late antiquity to 1500 CE. Related: Hard copy volumes are located on the Lower Level of Shields at DD3 M8 P6.

Open-access collection of digitized books and other content held by the Bayerische Staatsbibliothek (München). Collections include incunabula, first editions of German classics, digitized newspapers and journals, maps, scores, and other realia.

This open-access online corpus of German literature contains over 10,000 works from over two thousand German-language authors.

The Regesta Imperii are a fundamental collection of primary sources for the study of European history, and an inventory of all archival and historiographic sources of the monarchs of the Holy Roman Empire ,from the Carolingian Age (9th century CE)to the time of Maximilian I(d. 1519). They include, as well, key records for the study of the papacy in the early and high middle ages. Die Regesta Imperii sind ein Quellenwerk zur europäischen Geschichte.Sie sind das Inventar aller urkundlichen und historiographischen Quellen der römisch-deutschen Könige von den Karolingern bis zu Maximilian I. sowie der Päpste des frühen und hohen Mittelalters. Schnittstelle auf Deutsch.
[Coverage: 9th CE century to 1519 CE]

Open access site with fulltext of 45 German language periodicals from the Enlightenment.
[Coverage: 18th and 19th century]

Schillers Werke is the electronic edition of the Nationalausgabe of Schiller's works. The Nationalausgabe was established in 1940 as the definitive edition of his works, letters and conversations. The series is currently edited by Norbert Oellers, one of the world's leading scholars of German literature. The Nationalausgabe is published in electronic form with the support of and under licence from Verlag Hermann Böhlaus Nachfolger Weimar GmbH & Co.

The Zeno Library (German language) includes significant works of world literature from all eras. Strengths include full-text collections from western philosophy and Belletristik by German-language authors of the 18th and 19th centuries.