Entomology & Nematology

An “extensive, annotated bibliography of the most important concepts and ideas in the discipline” of ecology. Articles range from agroecology to wildlife ecology including “autoecology, population, community, and ecosystem ecology, the main biomes of the world, as well as articles related to the synthesis of ecology with other disciplines including human ecology … and chemical ecology …” The Ecology Bibliography is kept current as follows: each article receives an annual formal review; and about 50-75 new articles are added each year.

Extensive, completely revised and updated 17-volume version of the original work published in Germany in 1960. Incorporates recent developments in the animal world as noted by prominent advisors and contributors from the scientific community. Volume 1 covers Lower metazoans and lesser deuterostomes and volume 2 is on Protostomes. Volume 3 is about Insects. Volumes 4-5 are both concerning Fishes. Volume 6 pertains to Amphibians and volume 7 is about Reptiles. Volumes 8-11 are all concerning Birds. Volumes 12-16 are on Mammals and lastly, volume 17 is the cumulative index.
•Each entry by family includes taxonomic placement & brief details including thumbnail description, size, number of genera/species, habitat, conservation status, & distribution map.
•Detailed sections describe: evolution & systematics; physical characteristics; distribution; habitat; behavior; feeding ecology & diet; reproductive biology; conservation status; significance to humans; and end with lengthy species accounts

2020. Edited by Christopher K. Starr. Continuously updated. “ A comprehensive, multi-author treatise on the social insects of the world, with some auxiliary attention to such adjacent topics as subsocial insects and social arachnids. The work is to serve as a very convenient, yet authoritative reference work on the biology and systematics of social insects of the world. This is a project of the International Union for the Study of Social Insects (IUSSI), the worldwide organizing body for the scientific study of social insects.”

2nd edition (2017). Edited by Simon A. Levin. “… this 7 volume comprehensive work covers all aspects of biodiversity. “Major themes of the work include the evolution of biodiversity, systems for classifying and defining biodiversity, ecological patterns and theories of biodiversity, and an assessment of contemporary patterns and trends in biodiversity.” Over 320 articles with “approximately 1,800 figures and 350 tables complement the text, and more than 3,000 glossary entries explain key terms”. Topics range from: Agriculture; Conservation & Restoration; Economics of Biodiversity; Environmental Conditions & Effects; Evolution; Extinctions; Genetics; Geographic & Global Issues; Habitats & Ecosystems; Human Effects & Interventions; Invertebrates; Microbial Diversity; Plant Biodiversity; Population Issues; Public Policies & Attitudes; Species Interactions & Interrelationships; Systematics & Species Concept; Techniques & Measurements; Theories & Concepts of Biodiversity; to Vertebrates.”

2011. Edited by Daniel Simberloff. This work “addresses all aspects of this subject at a global level—including invasions by animals, plants, fungi, and bacteria—in succinct, alphabetically arranged articles. … the volume encompasses fields of study including biology, demography, geography, ecology, evolution, sociology, and natural history. …[includes an] … an appendix of the world’s worst 100 invasive species, a glossary, and more …”

2000 (2nd ed.) Ross H. Arnett Jr. “New edition of a reference that contains a total of 12,357 described genera and 87,107 described species of insects, all of which are accounted for by actual literature reference. It provides a description of each known order of insects, extant or extinct; a description of each family of insects; a listing in taxonomic sequence of each described genus of insect; the number of described species in each genus, by actual count; an account, either as a description, or as a unique species in the genus, of over 17,000 species of insects, including a listing, many descriptions and illustrations of all species known to be pests. Arnett (deceased) was an influential coleopterist.” Book News review

2010. Michael J. Samways. “ With up to a quarter of all insect species heading towards extinction over the next few decades, there is now a pressing need to summarize the techniques available for measuring insect diversity in order to develop effective conservation strategies.Insect Conservation outlines the main methods and techniques available to entomologists, providing a comprehensive synthesis for use by graduate students, researchers and practising conservationists worldwide. Both modern and more 'traditional' methodologies are described, backed up by practical background information and a global range of examples. Many newer techniques are included which have not yet been described in the existing book literature.This book will be particularly relevant to postgraduate and advanced undergraduate students taking courses in insect ecology, conservation biology and environmental management, as well as established researchers in these fields. It will also be a valuable reference for nature conservation practitioners and professional entomologists worldwide.”

2013. Helmut Fritz van Emden. Provides a “general introduction to entomology and includes coverage of the major insects (and mites) that cause harm to crops, livestock and humans. The important beneficial species are also included. Organisms are described in a classification of insect Orders and Families. The emphasis is on morphological characters of major taxonomic divisions, “spot characters” for the recognition of Families, and the life histories, damage symptoms and economic importance of the various pest species. The book is beautifully illustrated in full colour with more than 400 figures showing both the organisms and the damage caused to plants with diagnostic characters indicated by arrows. Coverage is world-wide.”

2018. Seenivasan Nagachandrabose. This guide is “designed for undergraduate agricultural science students, farmers and farm extension personnel to provide a comprehensive description of plant-parasitic nematodes. It is contructed with 16 different chapters comprising of: an introduction; a brief history of plant nematology; the economic importance of nematodes; general characteristics of a plant-parasitic nematode; general morphology of nematodes; the anatomy of nematodes; the general life cycle biology of plant-parasitic nematodes; taxonomy/systematics/classification of major plant-parasitic nematodes; classification of nematodes based on feeding habits; identification keys for major plant-parasitic nematodes; damage symptoms caused by the nematodes; interaction of nematodes with other microbial pathogens; different methods of nematode control; prominent nematode resistant crop cultivars; the concept of integrated nematode management; nematode parasites of important agricultural and horticultural crops with their management practices; and fundamental nematological techniques. The introduction covers the definition of nematodes, history of nematology, the yield loss caused by nematodes, some important animal parasitic nematodes, and beneficial nematodes including nematodes used in insect control, weed control, and biological monitoring systems. The morphology and anatomy of nematodes are simply explained with detailed diagrams. The taxonomy classification structure based on evolutionary concepts are provided with major differentiation characteristics between important groups. The life cycle of different feeding groups of plant-parasitic nematodes is illustrated with simple illustrations. Identification keys and symptoms of nematode damage are described with suitable images.“

2007. John Bridges. “Aims to help people working commercially with crop plants to identify and improve their diagnosis of microscopic soil and plant nematodes of agricultural importance that are parasitic on crop plants. An invaluable reference for growers, farmers and students working in crop protection, plant pathology, and agriculture.“

2006. E. Abebe. “This book contains 22 chapters on various aspects of freshwater nematode ecology and taxonomy. Subjects covered include the techniques for processing freshwater nematodes, the composition and distribution of free living freshwater nematodes, their abundance, biomass and diversity, the production of freshwater nematodes, their feeding ecology, patterns in size structure of freshwater nematode communities, different nematode habitats, and computation and application of nematode community indices. It provides descriptions with figures of each taxon at the genus level and above to currently valid genera. For every genus, a complete list of species, with an emphasis on biogeography, is given for primarily freshwater taxa and a list of only those species reported from freshwater bodies is given for the genera that are considered primarily non-freshwater. This book is intended to provide a useful reference to students, beginners and established researchers in the field of freshwater nematology, benthologists, invertebrate biologists, limnologists, ecologists, microbiologists and soil biologists.“

2022. Open access published by the Foundation for Freshwater Research and the Freshwater Biological Association. A “Practitioners' Guide to Improving and Protecting River Health: Focus on Invertebrate Monitoring and Assessment."

Original content from 1920s+. Comprehensive update with move to online for 2010+.RESEARCH level handbook with GERMAN as first language. Online continuously updated version of De Gruyter’s Handbook of Zoology covering over 100 years of zoological research. Includes original Handbook material (> 28,000 pages) reordered along taxonomic (instead of bibliographical) categories. PLEASE NOTE: publication language of the core historical volumes is German. ENGLISH language sections are currently under the Browseable section “Ahead of Print” but are slowly being integrated into the main volumes below. Browseable volumes are organized in 8 larger volume collections as follows:

•Protozoa, Porifera, Colenteratea, Mesozoa (Vol. 1)
•Vermes Amera (Vol. 2)
•Arthropoda ex. Insecta (Vol. 3)
•Arthropoda: Insecta (Vol. 4)
•Solenogastres, Mollusca, Echinoderma (Vol. 5)
•Pisces/Amphibia (Vol. 6)
•Reptilia, Aves (Vol. 7)
•Mammalia (Vol. 8)

2011 (2nd ed.) Gordon Gordh et al. This dictionary is a “comprehensive, fully cross-referenced collection of terms, names and phrases used in entomology, incorporating an estimated 43,000 definitions. It is the only listing which covers insect anatomy, behaviour, biology, ecology, histology, molecular biology, morphology, pest management, taxonomy and systematics. The origin, etymology, part of speech and definition of each term and phrase are all provided, including the language, meaning or root of each term and constituent parts.The common names of insects, their scientific binomen and taxonomic classification are provided, with diagnoses of pest species in many cases. All insect order, suborder, superfamily, family and subfamily names are given, together with the diagnostic features of orders and families. With new and updated terms, particularly in molecular biology, phylogeny and spatial technology …”