Databases
- Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new windowWeb of Science Core Collection enables searching of top-cited peer-reviewed content across the sciences, social sciences, and humanities with "cited reference" search capabilities. "It is a curated collection of over 20,000 peer-reviewed, high-quality scholarly journals published worldwide (including Open Access journals) in over 250 science, social sciences, and humanities disciplines. Conference proceedings and book data are also available." There is also access to Journal Citation Reports which provide impact metrics like the Journal Impact Factor (JIF) and Eigenfactor Scoring. Web of Science also has article, author and institutional citation indices. Includes EndNote Basic online citation management tool.
[Coverage: 1900-present] - IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Institute of Electrical & Electronics Engineers
Provides access to full-text IEEE transactions, journals, conference proceedings, and standards and IEE/IET journals and conferences. - INSPEC This link opens in a new windowInspec was created by the Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET), and is one of the world's most definitive bibliographic scientific engineering research databases, containing over 15 million abstracts and indexing records. Inspec is on the Engineering Village platform and can be searched together with Ei Compendex. By searching both engineering research databases together, engineers gain access to the broadest engineering source available with a single database search experience.
[Coverage: 1898-present] - MathSciNet This link opens in a new windowMathSciNet is the most comprehensive resource for the international literature of mathematics and statistics. Covers approximately 1800 mathematical journals.
Warning for off-campus users: MathJax causes browsers to report errors when processing the TeX encoded symbols when using the VPN. Use the MathSciNet Preferences tab to turn MathJax off and display the TeX coding or use the proxy server.
[Coverage: 1940-present] - Scopus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Large interdisciplinary abstract and citation database to academic journal literature, conference proceedings and books with broad coverage across the sciences and social sciences, includes citation tracking tools (Citescore).
[Coverage: full coverage from 1996-present, with selected coverage as far back as 1823] - ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text searching across the ebooks, journals, and major reference works published by Elsevier on the ScienceDirect platform. Subjects include life, health and physical sciences, social sciences, and the humanities.
NOTE: We don't license everything from Elsevier, but we may have a print copy. If the article or chapter does not have a green box next to it, check the library catalog, or request from another library. EXCLUSIONS to the Elsevier collection are textbooks, some major reference works, some professional and trade titles, consumer books, and many health sciences titles.
[Coverage: dates vary]
How do I Know if an Article is Peer-Reviewed?
Look for limits/filters
Many databases allow you to specify that you want to search only in “peer-reviewed” or “refereed” sources.
Visit the journal’s webpage
Search online for your journal’s title. Sections like “about this journal” or “editorial policies” generally mention whether the journal is peer-reviewed/refereed.
________________________________________________________________
Find and virtually browse journals
-
Use Browzine
Check a directory
-
Use Ulrich's to find whether a journal has a peer review process.