Comparative Literature

OCLC catalog of millions of records for books, journal titles and materials in other formats from approximately 12,000 libraries worldwide.
[Coverage: 1000 A.D.-present]

Der KVK ist eine Meta-Suchmaschine zum Nachweis von mehreren hundert Millionen Büchern, Zeitschriften und anderen Medien in Bibliotheks- und Buchhandelskatalogen weltweit. The Karlsruhe Virtual Catalog is a meta-search engine for locating hundreds of millions of books, periodicals, and other media in library and book trade catalogues throughout the world.

The online catalog of the Bibliothèque nationale de France.

A collective database of all books published in Europe between the invention of printing and the end of the sixteenth century (1450-1700).

BASE is one of the world's most voluminous search engines especially for academic open access web resources. BASE is operated by Bielefeld University Library.

Index of Latin American journals books, essays, book reviews, conference proceedings, technical reports and interviews. 24 different countries of Latin America and the Caribbean, focus on Pan-American issues, topics in the social sciences, humanities, sciences and technology from over 2,600 scholarly journals published in the Spanish, Portuguese, French and English languages.
[Coverage: 1975-2009]

Provides the most comprehensive, current bibliography of international scholarly literature in Medieval Studies available.
[Coverage: 1967-present; updated quarterly]

This is the major bibliographic index for Classical studies, including art, history, philosophy, literature and more. Use the hard copy edition of the Annee Philologique to search for material published before 1949. It is located at Shields Library Humanities/Social Sciences Reference Z7016.A1 A5
[Coverage: 1949-current]

The Modern Language Association International Bibliography (MLAIB) covers international scholarly materials on all languages, literatures, linguistics, and folklore from around the world. It includes citations to items from journals, series, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies. MLAIB does not index book reviews.
[Coverage: 1926-present]

Direct access to several million digital objects: film, photos, paintings, sound recordings, maps, manuscripts, books, newspapers, and archival papers. Selected from previously digitized resources available in Europe's museums, libraries, archives, and audio-visual collections.  French and German cultural institutions are particularly well represented.

Full-text biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline. Combines core literary resources such as Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism Select, and the Dictionary of Literary Biography.

One of the world's most advanced digital library collections, providing online access to millions of books, periodicals, images, videos, maps, sound files, manuscripts, and scores. Searchable in basic or advanced modes, and browsable by publication type. Originally an attempt to provide coverage of the Bibliotheque Nationale's vast holdings in French literature from the Middle Ages to the present, it now has digital access partnerships with a number of other major library collections substantially increasing its offerings. Includes links to other relevant sites.

A repository of scanned books contributed from academic institutions across the United States, including UC campuses, and those digitized by Google and the Internet Archive. Books still in copyright are scanned and searchable, but the full text scans will not become available online until their copyright expires. Although there is significant overlap with Google books, this site has a much more effective and sophisticated search interface. For additional details, see the HathiTrust Help Page.

Archive of scholarly journals and ebooks in over 50 disciplines spanning the arts, humanities, social sciences and the sciences. For journals, coverage begins with volume one of each title and continues to within 3 to 5 years of the most current issue, with some up-to-date dependent on the title. JSTOR is a not-for-profit organization established with the assistance of the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation.

Redalyc serves as a portal to more than 15,000 full text articles published in over 700 journals that come from 15 countries in Latin America, the Caribbean, Spain and Portugal. New titles and older content are added monthly. Subject coverage includes topics in the social sciences, arts and humanities, and the natural sciences. Redalyc can be searched by keyword, subject, author, country of publication or journal title. Articles are primarily in Spanish. Redalyc adheres to an Open Access policy and its material is released under a Creative Commons license, with free downloads of the PDF files.