Welcome
This guide offers a starting point for researchers interested in designing and conducting research for public impact that reaches beyond the university and prioritizes cultivating partnerships with community members, organizations, and relevant stakeholders. The UC Davis Library works closely with the Office of Public Scholarship and Engagement (PSE) at UC Davis, including as a co-sponsor of the Library Graduate Student Prize which celebrates graduate student researchers who use the library to create outstanding, publicly engaged scholarship.
Fundamentals for Starting Research
The Community-Based PhD by Publication Date: 2022Community-based participatory research (CBPR) presents unique ethical and practical challenges, particularly for graduate students. This volume explores the nuanced experience of conducting CBPR as a PhD student.
The Oxford Handbook of Methods for Public Scholarship by Publication Date: 2019This handbook presents the first comprehensive overview of research methods and practices for engaging in public scholarship. Public scholarship, which has been on the rise over the past 25 years, produces knowledge that is available outside of the academy, is useful to relevant stakeholders, and addresses publicly identified needs. By involving stakeholders in the entire process, and making the findings accessible, public scholars contribute to a crucial democratization of research.
Ground Truths: Community-Engaged Research for Environmental Justice by Publication Date: 2024This book shows how community-engaged research makes unique contributions to environmental justice for Black, Indigenous, people of color, and low-income communities by centering local knowledge, building truth from the ground up, producing actionable data that can influence decisions, and transforming researchers' relationships to communities for equity and mutual benefit. The book offers a critical synthesis of relevant research in many fields, outlines the main steps in conducting community-engaged research, evaluates the major research methods used, suggests new directions, and addresses overcoming institutional barriers to scholarship in academia.
Researching Health Together: Engaging Patients and Stakeholders, from Topic Identification to Policy Change by Publication Date: 2021The challenges of addressing health disparities, the ethical imperative to include stakeholders in research, and the slow translation of research evidence into practice are all driving a movement towards more community-based and participatory approaches to research. Researching Health Together brings together authors who have produced innovative methods or implemented projects focused on different stages of the research process, from question development to evaluation and translation.
Community-Based Participatory Research: Testimonios from Chicana/o Studies by Members of communities of color in the United States often struggle for equity, autonomy, survival, and justice. Community-Based Participatory Research is an edited volume from activist-scholars who present personal testimonies showcasing how community-based participatory research (CBPR) can lead to sustainable change and empowerment. Editor Natalia Deeb-Sossa has chosen contributors whose diverse interdisciplinary projects are grounded in politically engaged research in Chicanx and Latinx communities. The scholars' advocacy work is a core component of the research design of their studies, challenging the idea that research needs to be neutral or unbiased.
- Collaborations: A Journal of Community-Based Research and PracticeA peer-reviewed, open access journal, sponsored by the University of Miami and Rutgers University. It is a site for sharing research and practice emanating from university-community collaborations. It was created to highlight research that describes, examines and evaluates the many different forms of university-community collaborations.
- Engaged Scholar Journal: Community-Engaged Research, Teaching, and LearningCanada’s online, peer-reviewed, multi-disciplinary journal committed to profiling best practices in 'engaged scholarship’ informed by community-academic partnerships in research, teaching and learning.
- eScholarship: Public Scholarship and EngagementA selection of publications supported by the Public Scholarship and Engagement (PSE) office at UC Davis. They work with UC Davis scholars to have a positive public impact and support meaningful relationships between communities and UC Davis scholars.
- Gateways: International Journal of Community Research and EngagementA refereed journal that responds to an emerging global movement of collaborative, critical and change-oriented community-university research initiatives. It provides a forum for academics, practitioners and community representatives to explore issues and reflect on methodological practices relating to the full range of engaged activity. The journal publishes empirical and evaluative case studies of community-based research and pedagogy; detailed analyses of partnership models, processes and practices; and theoretical reflections that contribute to the scholarship of engagement.
- Public: A Journal of Imagining AmericaA peer-reviewed, multimedia e-journal focused on humanities, arts, and design in public life. It aspires to connect what we can imagine with what we can do. We are interested in projects, pedagogies, resources, and ideas that reflect rich engagements among diverse participants, organizations, disciplines, and sectors. Public encourages community-engaged learning, research, and practice across boundaries through vivid description and analysis, documentation, evaluation, inquiry, and critique.
- Sage Research Methods This link opens in a new windowSage Research Methods (SRM) is an online collection of authoritative information resources (e.g., journals, books, reference, videos, podcasts, cases) on how to perform hundreds of research methods, including statistical analyses, in a wide variety of disciplines (e.g., social science, medicine and health, engineering, public policy). Also includes a suite of research tools (e.g., Methods Map, Project Planning, Which Stats Test?).
[Coverage: 1976-present] - Oxford Research Encyclopedias This link opens in a new windowThis is a continuously updated set of scholarly reference works. Use Browse by Subject to search individual ORE titles, or the basic or advanced search boxes to search all titles at once.
Oxford Research Encyclopedias (ORE's) cover: African History, American History, Anthropology, Asian History, Business and Management, Oxford Classical Dictionary, Climate Science, Communication, Criminology and Criminal Justice, Economics and Finance, Education, Environmental Science, International Studies, Latin American History, Linguistics, Literature, Neuroscience, Natural Hazard Science, Physics, Planetary Science, Politics, Psychology, Global Public Health, Religion, and Encyclopedia of Social Work.
Advanced Search - Taylor & Francis This link opens in a new windowFull-text searching across the ebooks and major reference works published by Taylor & Francis and its imprints: CRC Press, Routledge, Garland and Psychology Press. Browse list of titles available. Disciplinary scope and coverage vary. Former CRCnetBASE collections incorporated in this collection include: AGRICULTUREnetBASE, BiomedicalSCIENCEnetBASE, CHEMnetBASE, ENGnetBASE, ENVIROnetBASE, FOODnetBASE, FORENSICnetBASE, MATHnetBASE, NUTRITIONnetBASE, STATSnetBASE and VETnetBASE (VetMed). Also included are newer Burleigh Dodds ebooks for agriculture. See also: Advanced Search and Taylor and Francis journals .
- Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new windowWeb of Science Core Collection enables searching of top-cited peer-reviewed content across the sciences, social sciences, and humanities with "cited reference" search capabilities. "It is a curated collection of over 20,000 peer-reviewed, high-quality scholarly journals published worldwide (including Open Access journals) in over 250 science, social sciences, and humanities disciplines. Conference proceedings and book data are also available." There is also access to Journal Citation Reports which provide impact metrics like the Journal Impact Factor (JIF) and Eigenfactor Scoring. Web of Science also has article, author and institutional citation indices. Includes EndNote Basic online citation management tool.
[Coverage: 1900-present]
