Instructions
1. Use these tools to find recent, relevant and reputable sources for your final group project. Recommended databases to start with:
- Access World News (news articles)
- APA PsycInfo (scholarly research articles)
2. If you are searching from off-campus, make sure you have set up off-campus access through your library!
Find News Articles
UC Davis Students: Use the database links listed below.
UC Online Students: Access databases through your campus library website: Berkeley, Irvine, Los Angeles, Merced, Riverside, Santa Barbara, Santa Cruz, San Diego
- Access World News (Formerly America's Newspapers) This link opens in a new windowAccess World News from NewsBank provides full-text information and perspectives from hundreds of U.S. and international sources. Date coverage varies with individual newspaper.
- U.S. Major Dailies This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Current full-text of the Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, New York Times (including the New York Times Magazine and the New York Times Book Review), Wall Street Journal and the Washington Post. - Nexis Uni (Formerly LexisNexis) This link opens in a new windowOne of the largest web-based full-text databases for current news, business and legal information. Includes a wide range of U.S. and foreign newspapers, plus transcripts of television and radio news programs.
- MasterFILE Premier This link opens in a new windowIndexes and abstracts over 2,600 popular magazines and periodicals covering topics in the general sciences, technology and health, consumer interests, cultural diversity, education, and current and historical events.
- NYTimes.com This link opens in a new windowUnlimited access to NYTimes.com and NYT Mobile apps, including Spanish and Chinese editions, which cover a variety of topics through breaking news articles, blogs, videos and interactive features.
Note: First time users must create a NYT account to gain access; accounts will need to be reactivated on an annual basis.
- To activate access:
- Step 1: Visit AccessNYT.com while connected to the UC Davis network (including VPN)
- Step 2: Search for and click the listing for “University of California, Davis – Davis, CA.”
- Step 3: Click “Create Account” and complete the registration fields
If you have previously registered your email address on The New York Times site, go through Steps 1 and 2 and then click the “Already have an account? Log in here” link (below the “Create Account” button) in Step 3. Mobile login setup, download any NYT app from the App Store and use same login credentials for unlimited access. Login to NYTimes.com directly from any location. - Step 1: Visit AccessNYT.com while connected to the UC Davis network (including VPN)
Find Research Articles
UC Davis Students: Use the database links listed below.
UC Online Students: Access databases through your campus library website: Berkeley, Irvine, Los Angeles, Merced, Riverside, Santa Barbara, Santa Cruz, San Diego
- APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
APA PsycInfo provides access to international literature in psychology and related disciplines. APA PsycInfo is a department of the American Psychological Association (APA) dedicated to creating products that make it easier for researchers to locate psychological literature relevant to their research topics. APA PsycInfo staff members locate and summarize relevant documents from a wide range of disciplines, and disseminate these summaries in forms suited to easy access and retrieval. - Communication Abstracts This link opens in a new windowAbstracts major journals in communication; mass media; and includes topics in interpersonal communication and relations; economics and communication; communication, culture, and society; education and communication and health communication.
[Coverage: 1978-present] - Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new windowSociological Abstracts, and its companion file Social Services Abstracts, cover the international literature of sociology, social work, and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. It provides abstracting and indexing of articles and book reviews drawn from thousands of serials publications, plus books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers, and working papers.
[Coverage: 1952-present]
- Google ScholarSearch across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
Evaluate Your Sources
Consider these criteria to determine if a source is reputable:
Author: Who produced the information? What can you find about the author's credentials?
Accuracy: Does the author cite references to support their thesis? If so, are the references also from scholarly, credible sources? How does this information compare to other sources you have found?
Timeframe: When was the source published? Is the information still relevant?
For more tips and guidelines:
- Evaluating Resources CC-BY-NC: UC Berkeley Library
- SIFT: The Four Moves CC-BY: Mike Caulfield, Washington State University Vancouver
- Evaluating Digital Sources Purdue University Online Writing Lab (OWL)
Deliver Your Presentation
Tips to create an effective PowerPoint or Prezi.
See also:
- How to Make Engaging PowerPoint Slides (Duke University)
- Presentation Tips for College Students (Colorado State University)
- PowerPoint Tools and Shortcuts (UC Davis)