Civil and Environmental Engineering

Compendex is the broadest and most complete engineering literature database available in the world with over 22 million indexed records from 77 countries across 190 engineering disciplines.
[Coverage: 1884-present]

Provides access to 97,000 records of ASCE publications, including journals, proceedings, and standards.
[Coverage: 1956-present; full-text articles beginning in 1997]

Web of Science Core Collection enables searching of top-cited peer-reviewed content across the sciences, social sciences, and humanities with "cited reference" search capabilities. "It is a curated collection of over 20,000 peer-reviewed, high-quality scholarly journals published worldwide (including Open Access journals) in over 250 science, social sciences, and humanities disciplines. Conference proceedings and book data are also available."  There is also access to Journal Citation Reports which provide impact metrics like the Journal Impact Factor (JIF) and Eigenfactor Scoring. Web of Science also has article, author and institutional citation indices. Includes EndNote Basic online citation management tool.
[Coverage: 1900-present]

Digital library providing full text access to technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, electronics, and related disciplines from IEEE journals, transactions, magazines, letters, conference proceedings, standards, IET (Institution of Engineering and Technology) publications, and select AIP/AVS journals.
[Coverage: 1988-present, select journals 1950-present]

AccessEngineering is an engineering reference tool that provides seamless access to a collection of authoritative, regularly updated engineering reference information.

This database covers environmental science topics from disciplines such as atmospheric science, biology, biotechnology, ecology, engineering, and microbiology.   It also covers agricultural research including agricultural economics, animal and veterinary sciences, aquaculture and fisheries, farming and farming systems, food and human nutrition, forestry, and plant sciences.  It includes Environmental Impact Statements (EIS) and Digests and all the records from the National Agricultural Library's AGRICOLA database.
[Coverage: 1960-present]

Database indexes literature across the earth, atmospheric, and aquatic sciences and incorporates the Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts; Oceanic Abstracts; and Meteorological and Geoastrophysical Abstracts databases. Sources indexed include: scholarly, trade and industry journals; technical reports; conference proceedings; government publications; and magazines. Subject areas include: aquaculture, aquatic organisms, atmospheric pollution and dynamics, climatology, marine biology, meteorology, oceanography, and water quality.
[Coverage: 1950-present]

Earthquake Engineering Abstracts provides bibliographic coverage on earthquake's effects on buildings and other structures, geological formations and how seismic and tsunamic phenomena relate.

Inspec was created by the Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET), and is one of the world's most definitive bibliographic scientific engineering research databases, containing over 15 million abstracts and indexing records. Inspec is on the Engineering Village platform and can be searched together with Ei Compendex.

Government-sponsored research, development and technical reports with full-text access to digitized reports published by the National Technical Information Service (NTIS), Department of Commerce. Search more than 3 million reports with links to over 800,000 full-text reports.
[Coverage: 1964-present]

REAXYS provides property, structure and reaction data for millions of chemical substances (organic, inorganic and organometallic) and chemical reactions.

Large interdisciplinary abstract and citation database to academic journal literature, conference proceedings and books with broad coverage across the sciences and social sciences, includes citation tracking tools (Citescore).
[Coverage: full coverage from 1996-present, with selected coverage as far back as 1823]

Full-text searching across the ebooks, journals, and major reference works published by Elsevier on the ScienceDirect platform. Subjects include life, health and physical sciences, social sciences, and the humanities.
NOTE: We don't license everything from Elsevier, but we may have a print copy. If the article or chapter does not have a green box next to it, check the library catalog, or request from another library. EXCLUSIONS to the Elsevier collection are textbooks, some major reference works, some professional and trade titles, consumer books, and many health sciences titles.
[Coverage: dates vary]

You must (register for a SciFinder account) before you can use the database (connect to the VPN to access registration page from off-campus).

SciFinder is the most comprehensive bibliographic database for scholarly research in the field of chemistry. It contains over 59 million citations and indexes over 50,000 journals, covering all aspects of chemistry, including chemical aspects of: biology and life sciences, engineering and materials science, food science, geology, medicine, physics, and polymer science. SciFinder also allows searching of chemical substances, chemical reactions, and includes some property data and spectra. It is the online version of Chemical Abstracts.
[Coverage: 1907-present, with selected pre-1907 material]
[Cited Reference Searching: 1996-present, allows you to identify who is citing an article]

NOTE: Commercial use of your University account is strictly prohibited. SciFinder can only be used by UC students, faculty and staff.

TRID includes over 900,000 records covering transportation research from ITRD and TRIS. It includes TRB publications going back to 1923, including Highway Research Board, SHRP, and Marine Board publications. Also indexed are Environmental Impact Statements, theses, reports, and research in progress.