Purpose of this guide
This subject guide highlights key resources for the discovery of research literature in Anthropology and related fields. If you have questions about the use of these databases, or research in Anthropology, I am happy to help, or get you in contact with those who can.
Subject Specific Resources
- Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new windowAnthropology Plus brings together into one resource the highly respected Anthropological Literature from Harvard University and Anthropological Index, Royal Anthropological Institute from the UK.
[Coverage: Late 19th century-present] - AnthroHub This link opens in a new windowIndexes and, in some cases, links to fulltext versions of materials (some open access, others accessible to subscribers only) by and about UC Berkeley anthropologists.
[Coverage: 1896-present]
- AnthroSource ( American Anthropology Association Journals)Search the full-text of thirty-seven journals published by the American Anthropology Association. Cover varies.
- eHRAF World Cultures This link opens in a new windoweHRAF World Cultures (Electronic Human Relations Area Files: World Cultures) contains ethnographic collections covering all aspects of cultural and social life. eHRAF is unique in having subject indexing at the paragraph level. For more info on this resource see: http://hraf.yale.edu/products/ehraf-world-cultures/features-benefits-uses/
- eHRAF Archaeology This link opens in a new windoweHRAF Archaeology , (the Electronic Human Relations Area Files: Archaeology) focuses on in-depth descriptive documents, (such as scholarly monographs) of archaeological traditions from around the world. eHRAF is unique in having subject indexing at the paragraph level. For more info on this resource see: http://hraf.yale.edu/products/ehraf-world-cultures/features-benefits-uses/
- Annual Review of Anthropology [via Annual Reviews]This journal publishes substantial review articles on important anthropological topics. As such it serves as a good reference source for those seeking to better understand the thinking in this diverse field.
- Anthropology: Oxford Bibliographies Online.A source for bibliographic essays and annotated citations on a wide variety of anthropological topics.
- Anthropology: Oxford Research EncyclopediaAn encyclopedia with in-depth entries on a comprehensive selection of anthropological topics written by experts in the field.
Related databases
- Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new windowSociological Abstracts, and its companion file Social Services Abstracts, cover the international literature of sociology, social work, and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. It provides abstracting and indexing of articles and book reviews drawn from thousands of serials publications, plus books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers, and working papers.
[Coverage: 1952-present] - Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) This link opens in a new windowLinguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. The database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Complete coverage is given to various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,500 serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, and dissertations.
[Coverage: 1973-present] - CAB Abstracts (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and abstracts to the international agricultural literature, including veterinary medicine, human and animal nutrition, forestry, rural development, as well as other related topics such as tourism and human ecology. Covers over 11,000 journals and conference proceedings and selected books in agriculture. Produced by CAB (Commonwealth Agricultural Bureaux) International (CABI) with more than 10 million records. HISTORICAL SCOPE: Archive abstracts added in August 2005 go back to 1910 with 1,860,000 additional records. CAB DATABASE PDFs: As of January 2009, hard-to-find literature may be available as CAB Database PDFs (so noted below the UC-eLinks button). These CABI Full Text items give users automatic access to over 350,000 journal articles, conference papers and reports 80 percent of which are not available electronically anywhere else. NOTE: the default UCD Search Type is set to Advanced Ovid Search.
[Coverage: 1910-present] - PrimateLit This link opens in a new windowPLEASE NOTE: The PrimateLit database is no longer being updated as of November 30, 2010. The PrimateLit database provides bibliographic access to the scientific literature on nonhuman primates for the research and educational communities. Coverage of the database spans 1940 to November 2010 and includes all publication categories (articles, books, abstracts, technical reports, dissertations, book chapters, etc.) and many subject areas (behavior, colony management, ecology, reproduction, field studies, disease models, veterinary science, psychology, physiology, pharmacology, evolution, taxonomy, developmental and molecular biology, genetics and zoogeography). Literature acquisition, analysis, and indexing was a collaborative project of the Wisconsin Primate Research Center, the Washington National Primate Research Center and the University of Wisconsin-Madison Libraries.
- Women's Studies International This link opens in a new windowAn interdisciplinary database combined from Women Studies Abstracts (1984-present), Women's Studies Database (1972-present), New Books on Women and Feminism (1987-present), Women of Color and Southern Women (1975-present), and several major bibliographies.
[Coverage: 1972 (and earlier)-present]
