Getting Started
FACULTY: Jason Riggio — jsriggio@ucdavis.edu
Use the resources on this guide to locate publications about wild mammals and their conservation and ecology.
Wild Mammal Search Terms
The UC Davis Shields Library uses Library of Congress Subject Headings (LCSH) in the UC Davis library catalog (inventory of what UC Davis Library has bought/licensed). Each library subject database — such as BIOSIS Previews or Zoological Record — also uses subject lists/thesauri that can help you precisely search your topic. All life sciences subject databases will have taxonomic searching features available for searching by various taxa groups such as kingdoms or orders or families.
Please fill out the survey to evaluate the UC Davis Library resources!
Key Resources for WFC 110
These subject databases may be demonstrated or discussed at the library session.
Search BIOSIS Previews or Zoological Record for the basic biology of any animal including: anatomy and physiology, behavior, conservation, ecology, genetics, molecular biology, nutrition and feeding, reproduction, and taxonomy and systematics. NOTE: Zoological Record is an essential database for taxonomy, systematics, and new species records. Zoological Record is the first database to search for wildlife, particularly rare and endangered species.
Wildlife & Ecology Studies Worldwide is a secondary database, particularly of use when looking for literature on African wild mammals.
Arctic & Antarctic Region is a database of use for searching literature about wild mammals located in polar regions.
-
BIOSIS Previews This link opens in a new windowBIOSIS Previews is a database for researching the biological sciences literature. Designed by biologists for keeping up with the literature across pure and applied life sciences including agriculture and medicine. Excellent features for searching by taxonomic categories and broad concept codes (subject categories). More than 27 million records in all life science areas, including agriculture, biochemistry, biomedicine, biotechnology, ecology, environmental biology, genetics, microbiology, plant biology, veterinary medicine & pharmacology, and zoology. Indexes over 6,000 journals, serials, books and book chapters, conference proceedings and patents.
[Coverage: 1926-present] -
Zoological Record This link opens in a new windowPrimary database for wildlife researchers. The oldest continuing database of animal biology - designed to include all records of new species information and naming. Comprehensive coverage of zoology; including behavior, conservation and environmental science, ecology, evolution, genetics, habitat, marine and freshwater biology, nutrition, parasitology and disease, reproduction, taxonomy and systematics, veterinary studies, zoogeography and fossil records. Especially strong in new species reports and field studies.
[Coverage: 1864-Present] -
Wildlife & Ecology Studies Worldwide This link opens in a new windowIndexes literature on wild mammals, birds, reptiles, and amphibians; covering all aspects of wildlife and wildlife management. Database producer from South Africa with excellent coverage of African publications.
[Coverage: 1935-present, with some earlier dates] -
Arctic & Antarctic Regions This link opens in a new windowThe largest collection of literature on polar regions with over 1.4 million records. The database covers a range of disciplines, including: geology, climate change/global warming, engineering, oceanography, and biology. Indexes literature from: academic journals, books, magazines, conference papers, dissertations, newspapers, trade publications, biographies, and government documents. Updated weekly.
[Coverage: 1800’s to present]
